Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 1.2 Used

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by whisker, Nov 7, 2015.

  1. whisker

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys,
    I want to buy my first Phantom, already owned a few brushed toy-grade quads'.

    I found a Phantom 1.2 and I'm not sure about buying it or not. I don't know much about Phantoms, i know there's a lot of revisions 1.1.1 , 1.2, 1.2.1, 2.0, etc, and I don't know if the 1.2 is a good revision.

    Also, the seller is giving me 2 gimbals, a Tarot T-2D that doesn't work and a chinese one I think that he says it works. But he says there's a problem with the controller board of the gimbal ( I think) he connects some pins and after that the drone may shake when in flight. He says if he doesn't connect the gimbal there's no problem with the drone. What should I do? What may be the problem?
     
    #1 whisker, Nov 7, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2015
  2. kirk2579

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Girard. ohio

    it is all a function of money.
    how much is it vs a used from a retailer like B&H vs new.
    do you have go pro or similar to use with it? if not, no gimbal needed.

    FWIW I am selling a V2 plus with 2 batteries , 2 sets props, backback case etc at 625 on CL for comparison
     
  3. whisker

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't live in the US so I can't get it cheap.
    He's selling it for aprox. 240 bux.
     
  4. SteveMann

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    652
    Location:
    Westford, MA
    That's news to me. To the best of my knowledge DJI never put suffixes on the model numbers.
    It might help if you tells us how much he wants for it. I'm not sure I would spend much on a used Phantom 1 without a working gimbal. You can find Phantom 2's for less than $500 on eBay. Amazingly, some dealers are still listing P2's for prices hovering around $2,000.
     
  5. SteveMann

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    652
    Location:
    Westford, MA
    Sounds high to me. Especially if you can't try before you buy.
     
  6. whisker

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guys,
    I'm not from the US, prices here are different.
    I'd love if you could only comment about the technical aspect ( like differences in revisions, maybe a reason why the drone would shake)
     
  7. SteveMann

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    652
    Location:
    Westford, MA
    You don't say in your profile where you are located, so I can only talk in terms of USD.

    $240 USD is way too much for a used Phantom 1. I would probably offer $100 if it flies. $25 if it doesn't or if it has crashed - just for parts.
    I would advise you look for a Phantom 2 with a ZenMuse H3-3D or H4-3D gimbal. If it comes with a Hero 3 or Hero 4 camera - all the better. A used P2-NV with a H3-3D gimbal and GoPro Hero 3 camera will run you in the $500-$1,500 USD. The P2 Non-Vision was probably the most customizable model that DJI made.
     
  8. whisker

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to buy my first Phantom, already owned a few brushed toy-grade quads'.
    Please give me some advice on the technical aspect of it, not the price( that does not help me)

    I found a Phantom 1.2 and I'm not sure about buying it or not. I don't know much about Phantoms, i know there's a lot of revisions 1.1.1 , 1.2, 1.2.1, 2.0, etc, and I don't know if the 1.2 is a good revision.

    Also, the seller is giving me 2 gimbals, a Tarot T-2D that doesn't work and a chinese one I think that he says it works. But he says there's a problem with the controller board of the gimbal ( I think) he connects some pins and after that the drone may shake when in flight. He says if he doesn't connect the gimbal there's no problem with the drone. What should I do? What may be the problem?