Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 1.1.1 H3-2D Install

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-2D GoPro Gimbal' started by JeffB2002, Jun 13, 2014.

  1. JeffB2002

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the 1.1.1 with the Naza-M v2 controller installed. Wanted to know if the H3-2D gimbal will just be a plug and play installation without the PMU. Is the upgrade board really necessary?

    Thanks
     
  2. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    You will need the upgrade board or the PMU to install the gimbal on a 1.1.1
     
  3. JeffB2002

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for the reply! One last question. Most of the H3-2D gimbals say "for Phantom 2 ONLY" With this upgrade board I can still use this gimbal correct?
     
  4. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Well yes you can connect any H3-2D gimbal to the upgrade board and that part will work fine (the mechanics and electronics are all the same), but the ones labeled for the P2 don't have the mounting bracket that matches the P1 screw hole locations on the body.
     
  5. JeffB2002

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok thanks...good to know that if I pick up a gimbal for a P2, all I have to do is modify the mounting hardware to fit the P1 mounting holes. The cables are all the same. Thanks for the awesome information!