Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 1.1.1 Gopro Fpv Setup Help

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by funtimegrandpa, Mar 2, 2014.

  1. funtimegrandpa

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    6
    I am new here and have my Phantom 1.1.1 on its way. I have a fatshark attitude system on my other quad, but I want to get a 600mw transmitter and us it with my Gopro Hero 3+ I ordered a cable for my gopro that has AV/ and a connector to charge the gopro. I am a little mixed up on the best way to hook this up and also if anyone knows where I can get a good price and a good 600mw transmitter that will work well.

    Thanks again for your help
     
  2. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    Can I ask, why 600mW? I get massive range with just 250mW and some decent antennas.
     
  3. funtimegrandpa

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have 250 with my other one, but I thought the extra power might help a bit more
     
  4. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Some recent tests posted here have shown that the mW rating on transmitters can be very misleading, and the 250mW model from fatshark seems to outperform several with higher labeled output.

    The cable you need to connect the gopro to the transmitter will just depend on which Tx you get, there's a couple of different common connection plugs used. Once you know what you're getting, there's premade cables for all different types that will connect directly to the gopro. The one you already bought will work if you get a Tx with the right connections...but I wouldn't base your buying decision on that factor (as you see the cables are inexpensive).
     
  5. funtimegrandpa

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    6
    I did not know that about the different tests and maybe I don't need more than the 250? I might be finding more interference because of the trees in the area? I guess I should go to an open area and see how it works and then make a decision. Is there a suggested one in both powers that has been good in performance. I did see one from Atlanta Hobby for around $79

    As for powering the Transmitter where is the best place to tap in on the Phantom 1.1.1

    Thanks for the help
     
  6. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
    I use the aux power that is already on the 1.1.1 for FPV
    Here is the test that has been done very good read made me go with another 250 instead of a 600 for my other bird .
    http://www.phantompilots.com/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=8406
     
  7. funtimegrandpa

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks, It does make me think! I was also wondering, is there a way to change the channel on the fatshark transmitter?
     
  8. amrflyingdude

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the 250mW tx with spirants and surpass the 3K ft mark.
     
  9. Jebus

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    amrflyingdude... you're surely not using the stock remote for the v1.1.1 - right? I thought they only had a recommended range of 1000ft and assumed they could go further, but not much more. Just wondering...
     
  10. Wintermute

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    1.1.1 has dual antennas and can go way, way beyond 1000ft. I went 2,850 feet yesterday while testing FPV range: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SsX-9wp ... =1&t=4m25s
     
  11. Jebus

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good to know. Thanks Wintermute!
     
  12. davemcm

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Scotland
    The quoted range is 1000 meters (3,280 ft) not 1000 feet, that may be where the confusion is coming from ;)
     
  13. Jebus

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    I always thought it was 1000ft (300 meters) - but that was probably the v1 and not the v1.1.1. Like I mentioned earlier, good to know! Thanks!
     
  14. kydan

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    I'm looking to add FPV to my Phantom 1.1.1 as well.

    I just installed a Beholder Gimbal and I used the extra power connector inside the 1.1.1 to power the gimbal.

    Where would I go about powering the transmitter I pick out? (Probably going with the immersionrc 600mw)