Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

PC ground station alternatives to waypoint flying

Discussion in 'DJI Ground Station' started by lol2x, Nov 8, 2015.

  1. lol2x

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi guys, it's my first post here :) I'm a happy owner of GJI P2 :)

    I'm using my phantom to photogrammetry flying throug waypoints generated by PC ground station, but as far as I know DJI PC ground station will be useless in december, is there ANY alternatives (i know there is iPad gs but it's only 16wp - maybe it's enought??) or in about month from now my phantom will be useless for me? Do you have any knowledge about it? Thanks in advance :)
     
  2. PTCX

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Australia
    I have GS too but yours must be one of the older versions.Mine will work with PC or iPad,it's just a matter of which you have and downloading the matching software.
    The version I have,Wireless Data Link Module,2.4G Data Link LK24-BT Bluetooth Support,only has 16 waypoints regardless of weather you use PC or iPad.

    I have in the last few days made attempts to contact DJI about the discontinuation of PC support requesting more information about what options I have and what their intentions are regarding firmware upgrades and such but so far they have snubbed me and disregarded my questions by simply telling me I have sent my message to the China sevice center and I should address my concerns to a sevice center closer to me.Then they provide links to North America,Europe,Korea and Japan,not much use to me in Australia.
    Regardless of which sevice center/region I send messages to they come back almost imediately to tell me I have sent my message to China.
     
  3. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,374
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Google Earth is ending and GS used the maps, hence the end of PC GS.
    Also, the old sales units contained both PC & iPad versions, the newer sales units did not, it was either one or the other.
    With GS built into new P3's the writing was on the wall. :(
     
  4. PTCX

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Australia
    Wel I'll consider myself lucky that I got the version I did then.At least I can still use it if I can find an ipad that will have ios 8 on it.
    Mind you I would prefer an Andriod version of the software or something because ipads/ipad minis are very expensive here,$400 to $500 used and $500 to $1200 new.
     
  5. johnbig

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Hi PTCX I have been using the iPad version of GS for over a year, I started with the pc version but borrowed an iPad and went out and bought an iPad Air. I was starting to like it when iOS 8 came out and killed my Dual Bluetooth receiver for 3 months but the GS kept working. iOS 8.4.1 got everything working again but then IOS 9 killed everything. If I were you I would wait until DJI addresses this issue and then buy an Ipad. I am sure you will be happy with the iPad GS which uses different satellite imagery from google earth by the way. Make sure you wait for the iOS 9 to be fixed because I had to buy a second hand IPad with iOS 8.3 which works with GS but I can't find any way to get iOS 8.4.1. I upgraded my first iPad and after a few days you can't go back.
    Johnbig
     
  6. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,374
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    I have both versions and the PC version has more options than the iPad version so I will be sad to see it sunset so early.
     
  7. lol2x

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Especially photogrammetry options which plan your waypoints in the area you want to "film"
     
    LuvMyTJ likes this.
  8. PTCX

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks Johnbig,some details there I was not aware of.
    Many of the ipad/ipad air that are available here have ios 7,does that work OK?
    I can always update to ios 9 later when DJI sort something out with that.

    I won't get much time to play with the PC version by the looks of it so maybe I won't miss any extra features as much as those who have had it longer.
     
  9. johnbig

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Hi PTCX I could only mannage to get 8.3 but GS works with that. My BT receiver needs 8.4.1 but the phantom supplies the GPS to GS.
    I'm working with a bloke from Gyra who got a 2nd hand Ipad with 7 something on it but he is still learning and I dont know if it is his setup, the GS or the IOS and it's a long drive from Sydney to Gyra
    but he might be able to come here so we can sort something out. I will let you know which version of 7 he has when we sort something out.

    johnbig
     
  10. PTCX

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Australia
    I received a reply from DJI in response to my questions and they said there will be an update for the system to work with ios 9 soon,this month.
    Well there were two replies to two messages sent,one said ios 9 update this month,one said may be this month.Make of that what you will but heres hoping.
    It should make those who have updated to ios 9 happier.
    So I will wait to see what happens and ask santa for an ipad for xmas.
     
    Chuckster-1007 likes this.
  11. O.j Sopacua

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello i can tell that DJI have fixed GS for Ipad, its working great
     
  12. Wallbanger

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    To answer the question, even if a little late... UgCS

    The basic version is free. I'm just getting into it, but it's very powerful. You can even load in camera profiles to assist with your photography planning.