Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

PC ground station alternatives to waypoint flying

Discussion in 'DJI Ground Station' started by lol2x, Nov 8, 2015.

  1. lol2x

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi guys, it's my first post here :) I'm a happy owner of GJI P2 :)

    I'm using my phantom to photogrammetry flying throug waypoints generated by PC ground station, but as far as I know DJI PC ground station will be useless in december, is there ANY alternatives (i know there is iPad gs but it's only 16wp - maybe it's enought??) or in about month from now my phantom will be useless for me? Do you have any knowledge about it? Thanks in advance :)
     
  2. PTCX

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Australia
    I have GS too but yours must be one of the older versions.Mine will work with PC or iPad,it's just a matter of which you have and downloading the matching software.
    The version I have,Wireless Data Link Module,2.4G Data Link LK24-BT Bluetooth Support,only has 16 waypoints regardless of weather you use PC or iPad.

    I have in the last few days made attempts to contact DJI about the discontinuation of PC support requesting more information about what options I have and what their intentions are regarding firmware upgrades and such but so far they have snubbed me and disregarded my questions by simply telling me I have sent my message to the China sevice center and I should address my concerns to a sevice center closer to me.Then they provide links to North America,Europe,Korea and Japan,not much use to me in Australia.
    Regardless of which sevice center/region I send messages to they come back almost imediately to tell me I have sent my message to China.
     
  3. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,941
    Likes Received:
    4,502
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Google Earth is ending and GS used the maps, hence the end of PC GS.
    Also, the old sales units contained both PC & iPad versions, the newer sales units did not, it was either one or the other.
    With GS built into new P3's the writing was on the wall. :(
     
  4. PTCX

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Australia
    Wel I'll consider myself lucky that I got the version I did then.At least I can still use it if I can find an ipad that will have ios 8 on it.
    Mind you I would prefer an Andriod version of the software or something because ipads/ipad minis are very expensive here,$400 to $500 used and $500 to $1200 new.
     
  5. johnbig

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Hi PTCX I have been using the iPad version of GS for over a year, I started with the pc version but borrowed an iPad and went out and bought an iPad Air. I was starting to like it when iOS 8 came out and killed my Dual Bluetooth receiver for 3 months but the GS kept working. iOS 8.4.1 got everything working again but then IOS 9 killed everything. If I were you I would wait until DJI addresses this issue and then buy an Ipad. I am sure you will be happy with the iPad GS which uses different satellite imagery from google earth by the way. Make sure you wait for the iOS 9 to be fixed because I had to buy a second hand IPad with iOS 8.3 which works with GS but I can't find any way to get iOS 8.4.1. I upgraded my first iPad and after a few days you can't go back.
    Johnbig
     
  6. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,941
    Likes Received:
    4,502
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    I have both versions and the PC version has more options than the iPad version so I will be sad to see it sunset so early.
     
  7. lol2x

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Especially photogrammetry options which plan your waypoints in the area you want to "film"
     
    LuvMyTJ likes this.
  8. PTCX

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks Johnbig,some details there I was not aware of.
    Many of the ipad/ipad air that are available here have ios 7,does that work OK?
    I can always update to ios 9 later when DJI sort something out with that.

    I won't get much time to play with the PC version by the looks of it so maybe I won't miss any extra features as much as those who have had it longer.
     
  9. johnbig

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Hi PTCX I could only mannage to get 8.3 but GS works with that. My BT receiver needs 8.4.1 but the phantom supplies the GPS to GS.
    I'm working with a bloke from Gyra who got a 2nd hand Ipad with 7 something on it but he is still learning and I dont know if it is his setup, the GS or the IOS and it's a long drive from Sydney to Gyra
    but he might be able to come here so we can sort something out. I will let you know which version of 7 he has when we sort something out.

    johnbig
     
  10. PTCX

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Australia
    I received a reply from DJI in response to my questions and they said there will be an update for the system to work with ios 9 soon,this month.
    Well there were two replies to two messages sent,one said ios 9 update this month,one said may be this month.Make of that what you will but heres hoping.
    It should make those who have updated to ios 9 happier.
    So I will wait to see what happens and ask santa for an ipad for xmas.
     
    Chuckster-1007 likes this.
  11. O.j Sopacua

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello i can tell that DJI have fixed GS for Ipad, its working great
     
  12. Wallbanger

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    To answer the question, even if a little late... UgCS

    The basic version is free. I'm just getting into it, but it's very powerful. You can even load in camera profiles to assist with your photography planning.
     
Loading...