Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

PC doesn't recognize when Phantom is plugged in

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by phantomnoobpilot, Feb 13, 2015.

  1. phantomnoobpilot

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    SEA
    I just changed my entire shell today. Flew it, works perfectly fine.

    Went back home, plugged it in, switched on the battery, opened up the Phantom Vision Assistant software and it doesn't recognize my Phantom. Therefore I cant do a lot of things like switching between phantom or Naza mode, check battery health, etc.

    Restarted the PC, reinstalled drivers, switched to a couple of different micro USB cables but nothing changes, the software still doesn't recognize the phantom plugged in.

    What went wrong this time?????
     
  2. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,751
    Likes Received:
    1,093
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    does it recognize your RC, or anything else USB for that matter?
     
  3. phantomnoobpilot

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    SEA
    recognizes the RC, yes. And i use those USB slots a lot for other stuff. so it's definitely something wrong.

    I plugged it in the camera and turned the battery on, it works like a charm.
     
  4. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,751
    Likes Received:
    1,093
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    is the usb port in the bird connected properly? i've never replaced a shell, but i'd imagine reseating the usb port and cable would be required, so maybe check for a loose connection.
     
  5. phantomnoobpilot

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    SEA
    previously before using the original shell, usb connection worked flawlessly. yeah maybe there's some cable not connected properly somewhere but i don't know where
     
  6. BlackTracer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL USA
    Try this:
    1. Uninstall the driver in Programs and Features.
    2. Close all assistants.
    2. Plug up the Phantom and turn it on.
    3. Run the driver installer again.
    4. After successful install, run the PC assistant.
    5. Possible joy.

    Edit: Nevermind you have already tried this. I agree with the "USB port not connected properly inside the shell" theory.
     
  7. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    Most USB cables are cheap and nasty - could be the cable - would be a coincidence after what you did but take it from me these things do happen!
     
  8. rickasaurus

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Agree totally. Definitely worth checking. I messed around for ages one day, then changed the cable and presto, everything worked!
     
  9. cahutch

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sonoma County, CA
    In my experience I can't have the USB cable plugged into the PC when I turn on the Phantom.
    I need to plug it in a while after it's been turned on for the PC to recognize it.
     
  10. paulajayne

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Bocking - England
    If the Phantom is hot users have said that connection can be a problem - keep it cool with a desk fan.

    As in normal use it is being cooled by the props.
     
  11. dalebb

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    Bakersfield, Ca.
    Hard to keep cool with an Avatar pi like that. :D
     
  12. phantomnoobpilot

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    SEA
    Today is Day 2 already and the drone has been kept cool after 2 flights hours ago and the Phantom Vision Assistant Software still can't recognize the phantom. getting frustrating for me.

    I need to check the health status of my batteries that's why.

    Definitely not the cable because I just plugged it in the camera slot just now to upload my photos onto my PC, and it works fine.

    Is this an isolated case? I googled about my issue and nothing similar came up. No way in hell will I ever email DJI again because their customer service on technical issues is virtually non-existent.
     
  13. kirk2579

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Girard. ohio
    I would say if all worked fine prior to the mod then I would look at usb connection at main board, see if it is plugged all the way or even in correct location. If possible even try a different usb cable I have experience cables that work with 1 thing yet not another.

    also just for fun go to Device manager if you have windows and look for a usb item with an error icon, if you see one click uninstall(with phantom unplugged) then plug in . sometime the ports gets locked up in relation to a device and until error removed it will fail to communicate properly.

    as far as DJI help this weekend they had a post on their site:



    Note that the DJI LA Center will be closed on Friday February 13th for system upgrades and the 16th for Presidents day. All services other than our call center will be available on the 13th.
     
  14. phantomnoobpilot

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    SEA
    i plugged it in all the way snugly and still doesn't make a difference. Earlier mentioned i tried with 2 different usb cables, both yielded the same results.

    went to device manager, nope, don't see any usb item with an error icon.
     
  15. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
  16. Forester

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    2
    Had the same problem. Sent it in for repair. It ended up being a bad USB. Confusing to me as I had just used it the day before and all was fine. I had not taken it apart or anything. It just decided to go bad.

    Good luck
    Forester
     
  17. phantomnoobpilot

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    SEA
    Is the USB part of the shell ?
     
  18. phantomnoobpilot

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    SEA
    the usb port in the gimbal works fine. Only the front USB just doesn't work at all.
     
  19. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Judging from the link below, If it uses the same pin connectors as the GPS plug, then unplug it and clean the connectors.
    You did mention of a shell swap. Also check if you installed in backwards (is it possible?).

    http://www.justhobbies.net.au/djip2-s04 ... -usb-cable
     
  20. kirk2579

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Girard. ohio

    I wondered about it being backwards myself. It is a straight 4 pin plug that really doesn't fit well at all. I could see somehow it going in reversed. That would flip the data line and power etc on pins with end result= no work