Part 107

Reaction score
In the U.S. the new guidance for commercial operations have been put forth. I'm a rated private pilot so all I had to do was take the online Small UAS course online and take the exam which I did today. So once I get my flight instructor to annotate my log book and submit the paperwork to the FAA I'll get the flight endorsement on my pilot's license.

This goes into effect by the end of August, is anyone else out there pursuing the sUAS flight endorsement?

In the U.S. the new guidance for commercial operations have been put forth. I'm a rated private pilot so all I had to do was take the online Small UAS course online and take the exam which I did today. So once I get my flight instructor to annotate my log book and submit the paperwork to the FAA I'll get the flight endorsement on my pilot's license.

This goes into effect by the end of August, is anyone else out there pursuing the sUAS flight endorsement?
I am, and have completed the course. But I'm not a pilot so I have a few more hoops to jump through.

I have looked several different places and talked to several different people, all with different answers so I hope I can find something more definitive here.

I work for a small municipality in South Carolina. I am on the IT staff and video events and other things for the Town as part of my job duties. I would love to purchase a small camera drone for the purpose of taking footage of the Town and some events to use in our videos. My question is this. What do I have to do to use the drone in this function legally?

I have heard everything from having to have a full pilots license to having a pilot with me during drone ops to having to do nothing at all. I have read a little about the new FAA regulations concerning drone use, but I was told by someone else that it only applies to people that are using the drones for profit and reselling the footage. Can anyone shed some light on this for me?

Thanks for the help in advance.