Parallel Battery for DJI Phantom 2

Reaction score
Newbie here with Phantom 2 on the way. Looking at the best way to get more flying time with the Phantom. Has anyone setup a dual or parallel battery setup with the Phantom 2 yet? If so what battery specs are you using. Cheers

The reason for getting a Phantom 2 is to do away with parallel battery setup. You'll get anywhere between 15-25 mins with the P2. You might be thinking of a Phantom 1. If you do end up loading extra weight on your setup, don't go pass the recommended weight as you can cause stress fractures on the frame.

Thanks for the reply. My thoughts were to have a parallel setup on the Phantom 2 as well as the main unit. Hoping to fly the main DJI battery, then once it has run out, use a few parallel batteries incase i need to fly for longer. I thought it would be cheaper to do the parallel setup as well instead purchasing more DJI Phantom 2 batteries at about $160 a pop.

The Phantom 2 battery has a unique connector.I have not seen or heard anything that would allow you to get anything in there other than the phantom 2 battery. Probably the reason why its so expensive.

The power connector can be replaced with something 'normal' (ie: xt60 like phantom 1), but supposedly the system also checks for a smart controller that's on the battery itself (which is connected on a different pair of pins).

So we need to either clone the chip or hack the firmware to bypass the check.

LeoS said:
The power connector can be replaced with something 'normal' (ie: xt60 like phantom 1), but supposedly the system also checks for a smart controller that's on the battery itself (which is connected on a different pair of pins).

So we need to either clone the chip or hack the firmware to bypass the check.

I have always thought about two possibilities..