P4P crash under active track and battery concerns

Reaction score
My P4P flew itself into a 200' tall pine tree this weekend while following a snowmobile using active track. I had all of the obstacle avoidance settings turned on (all of them, not just the defaults) and was a bit surprised that things turned out the way they did.

I cannot retrieve it - it's at least 200 feet up. I'm not too broken up about it - it's the first drone I've lost in 5+ years of flying, and over 10 different models. I'm a good pilot, and have never had any other issues, but couldn't react fast enough with the automatic active track feature to avoid the crash.

I have a couple of questions:

1. Would DJI's care program cover replacing this? Or would they replace it regardless because the active track feature flew the quad into the tree, even with avoidance on? Or is that not covered? I'm just curious more than anything else.

2. Any concerns about the battery in the weather? In particular, I'm worried about it when we get to summer, and being a fire hazard? This is in a warm climate during the summer where it could get up to 100F.

My P4P flew itself into a 200' tall pine tree this weekend while following a snowmobile using active track. I had all of the obstacle avoidance settings turned on.
Unfortunately, the side sensors are not used for obstacle avoidance unless flying in tripod mode or beginner mode.

Would DJI's care program cover replacing this?
They will fix it if it's damaged. You'll need to retrieve it first though.

would they replace it regardless because the active track feature flew the quad into the tree, even with avoidance on? Or is that not covered?
It would be covered under pilot error.

Reactions: stevemitchell
Best of luck getting this down from that height. Ditto @msinger regarding side sensors. It will be nice when DJI updates this so they are enabled in other flight modes.

Sorry for your loss, always sad to see these.