Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. Fyrekap

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    After much contemplation, finally sprung for the P4. Picked it up on Thursday. Unboxed it at home to discover that the battery that came in the box wont do anything, no indicator lights and nothing happens when placed on the charger. Fortunately, I had bought 2 spare batteries which seemed to work fine. Went ahead and did all the updates Thursday night and went out to fly it yesterday afternoon. Got about 23 mins of flight time but kept getting a VISION SYSTEM ERROR. Video was all choppy but thought maybe that was a computer issue. Charged everything up and went out this mornING and now can't get more than 15 feet away before it loses signal and RTH. Spent the whole morning reading forums, calibrating, and backing up software versions, still no joy. I f someone has some ideas I would be happy too try anything, otherwise I will take this POS back where it came from!!!
     
  2. sar104

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Los Alamos, NM.
    Without seeing the flight logs and details of the software and firmware, it is impossible to draw any conclusions from the limited information that you provided.
     
  3. btorphoto

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    AZ
    If you purchased it close by, return it for another.
     
    bernek likes this.
  4. Fyrekap

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    App 2.8.1 (had 2.8.2)
    Version 01.01.0411
    Remote 1.6.0

    Figuring out flight logs now
     
  5. Fyrekap

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Flight control file too large to upload
     
  6. Lor

    Lor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    plug your drone into the computer, & update it, & caliberate it via (by the computer screen) way ,then update your remote , after that & it dont work, i would say what ever you used to view it not good, i used a ipod touch 5gen and alway disconnected bad signal, But after i used a friend iphone 6 plus, i had no issue & seen everything & went farther , so it was my viewing system(iPod) the whole time
     
  7. Fyrekap

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did all of the calibrations and updated firmware, remote, and app. Using a Samsung Note4 which is recommended by DJI. Rebooted everything multiple times. Downgraded firmware. I've done everything you can read on here or DJI forum. Seems that this has been an ongoing problem for several weeks. Literally... loses signal at about 12-15 feet horizontally or vertically.
     
  8. PredTeam6

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    8
    I would take it back to where I got and get a new one. Doing too much messing with a new product that showed issues out of the box gives the Retailer excuses for not accepting return. Curious, where you bought it?
     
  9. Fyrekap

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Buy
     
  10. voi9viper

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    I had all kinds of Note 4 issues just getting it to connect and activating it. Used an old IPad and everything seems great. I'll try the Note 4 again just to see what happens. After using the Ipad my Note 4 connects now. I'll report more after I fly it.
     
  11. Fyrekap

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Note4 has connected without issue every time.
     
  12. rastaman777

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Return that bad boy back to best buy and get another one!
     
  13. JDP4

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sounds like you may have a dud or perhaps a fake?? I had video stream disconnection issues at 400m in the beginning flying with an Ipad Air2, but seems way better after upgrade. One issue i have noticed recently is that my photos and videos have red and white spots on them when you zoom in on PC in lightroom. Definitely return that one and wait for the P5. Good luck


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  14. Stealthmatt

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    141
    Just take it back and get another one. The end.
     
  15. Bckmstr

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    MN
    sorry to hear all your bad luck ...as others have stated stop messing around with it and exchange it for another....i bought mine on 7-8-16 from best buy also and not one issue since owning it...good luck
     
  16. 28wins

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    129
    I would also recommend that you swap this one for another: it is just too unreliable. Who knows what will happen 6 months from now if you experienced these issues out of the box. Perhaps nothing, but at point you'll have very few options to get rid of it.