Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. iWombat

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am confused. The P4 supposedly has lightbridge, and some threads talk about joining a slave remote:

    Second Remote for P4... Options?

    Yet, I cannot find the P4 remote for sale separately and DJI seems to think it cannot be done:

    Dear XXXXXk,

    Thanks for contacting DJI customer support.

    We are sorry that Phantom 4 is not supportive with a slave RC.

    Thanks for choosing DJI.

    Regards,

    DJI Customer Support​

    Are they wrong? Has anyone bound a slave remote so that one controls the camera and another controls the drone?

    -iWombat
     
  2. sar104

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Los Alamos, NM.
    That's not what they are discussing - it was a question of having another RC available with boosters and/or longer range antennas for more distant flights.
     
  3. iWombat

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. sar104

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Los Alamos, NM.
    Same answer - they are just discussing the use of different RCs to obtain increased range.
     
  5. iWombat

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right again. Guess no-one has tried Slave with P4, maybe DJI support is right.

    Still confused about why though. Thought lightbridge implied slave support.
     
  6. sar104

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Los Alamos, NM.
    Lightbridge is just a long-range, spread-spectrum radio link that handles control, telemetry and video. It doesn't imply anything beyond that - other features are platform dependent.

    In any case, on a P4 the only camera control is pitch, so a separate controller for that doesn't make all that much sense.
     
  7. iWombat

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Control is not what I really wanted anyway, I was just hoping to use hdmi output on a modded slave remote for an "untethered" connection to a television 50 yards away from the real controller flying the copter.

    Is there some lightbridge receiver I can use instead?

    Otherwise, I need to hook up a 50-ft hdmi cable to my hdmi-modded P4 remote and tether myself to the house.
     
  8. DroneDestination

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    126
    Nope.
    Yup.
     
  9. iWombat

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. sar104

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Los Alamos, NM.
    If you are using an iOS device and have an AppleTV then you may be able to mirror the device to the TV with AirPlay.
     
  11. iWombat

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's true. I use an iPad Air 2. I guess there is also the YouTube Streaming option if I can figure out how to stream it through a wi-fi connection so it doesn't eat all my cellular data.
     
  12. Sim597

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    266
    Certainly doesn't have to be an Apple device, my Asus 8s works with my new curved Samsung TV without using an app. I am an apple guy tho, my IPhone shoots YouTube right to it too without an app.
     
    sar104 likes this.