Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P4 Camera Sensor

Discussion in 'Phantom 4 Discussion' started by RPP, Sep 25, 2016.

  1. RPP

    RPP

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    California
    Do we know who makes it? Does it have an AA filter on it?

    I was pleasantly surprised that Adobe's Camera RAW and Lightroom have the P4 lens profile included for auto-correction.
     
  2. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    6,258
    Likes Received:
    2,080
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    P3/P4 have been sold in millions so it's obvious that pic editing packages provide special attention to it.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  3. WilsonFlyer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    169
  4. RPP

    RPP

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    California
  5. RPP

    RPP

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    California
    At BHPhotovideo.com, the specs of the Inspire camera are listed: Sony EXMOR 1/2.3" CMOS. I think this is the same sensor in the P4 camera.
     
  6. WilsonFlyer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    169
    That's speculatory at best. We know what the Zenmuse cameras are. DJI has never really attempted to conceal that. They have never disclosed what the sensors are in the Phantoms, which was the original question.
     
  7. GMack

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,166
    Likes Received:
    344
    I wouldn't rule out OmniVision as the sensor either since they seem to do HDR on some of their newer sensors. There is some speculation the four P4 obstacle cameras may be OmniVision units so maybe they made a deal for the main camera too? Then there was talk of Sony's sensor manufacturing being off line from that earthquake about the time the P4 should have been nearing production too.

    Anyone tear into the camera and look at the sensor yet? Must be something stamped on it someplace to make it identifiable.
     
  8. WilsonFlyer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    169
    You know there have been enough torn up and crashed by now that if it were identifiable, there's no way it would still be secret this far into the product cycle.
     
    #8 WilsonFlyer, Sep 25, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2016
  9. RPP

    RPP

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    California
    It is a plausible guess because BH describes the P4 sensor as 1/2.3" 12 MP CMOS, same as the Inspire. It only doesn't explicitly spell out Sony Exmor as on their Inspire page.
     
    WilsonFlyer likes this.
  10. RPP

    RPP

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    California
    See these for comparison.

    IMG_0983.jpg IMG_0984.jpg
     
  11. WilsonFlyer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    169
    As I speculated myself in my first post in the thread. :)
     
    RPP likes this.
  12. RPP

    RPP

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    California
    Yes, I see that now. I had missed your link.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Camera Sensor Forum Date
Camera Blur Spot - Replacing Lens/Sensor Board Pro/Adv Discussion Apr 23, 2017
What Is The CCD WIDTH Of The DJI Phantom 4 Pro Camera Sensor? Phantom 4 Discussion Feb 26, 2017
Camera sensor error Phantom 4 Pro Help Feb 1, 2017
PHANTOM 4 SENSOR CAMERA ERROR Phantom 4 Help Jan 23, 2017
Phantom 4 camera sensor error Phantom 4 Help Jan 18, 2017