Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,316
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    I've done a couple flights long distance with the P4 stock battery, but now it's time to get this thing ready for external batteries like the rest of my UAVs. I was confident that it's a job I can handle, but I'm halfway through it now, and it is a pain in the A**!
    I would suggest to you guys to do what most people with the P4 battery mod have done and send yours off to Paul at FPV customs. His price is below the value of what someone should charge for this procedure.DJI PHANTOM 4 BATTERY MOD( NO EXTERNAL BATTERIES INCLUDED) ...INCLUDES PRIORITY RETURN SHIPPING
    I can mod the P2 or P3 in 30 to 40 minutes. I'm only halfway done with this P4 mod and I've got two one-hour sessions in so far, when it's all said and done it will have taken me three hours at least. Here's a few pics of my progress. ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1466745919.313369.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1466745931.744262.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1466745943.450454.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1466745958.579254.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1466745969.613102.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1466745986.131889.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1466746015.417219.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1466746032.002259.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1466746056.372453.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1466746069.454406.jpg
    Because this is still a work in progress I've yet to reveal the outcome as a success or not. Wish me luck
     
    LosDosMonitos likes this.
  2. GadgetGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4,474
    Likes Received:
    1,296
    May the luck of the Irish be with you! :cool:
     
    pomonabill220 and dirtybum like this.
  3. IBV

    IBV

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Sweden
    Anybody knows somebody doing battery mod for the Phantom4 in Europe?
    What is now better.. a mod on batteries or the P4?

    What additional batteries would be below 350gr, give enough current and have high capacity?
    There are new, better batteries almost every half year these days.

    Glad for any hint! :)
     
  4. GadgetGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4,474
    Likes Received:
    1,296
    To my knowledge, no one has successfully modded a P4 battery because the terminals are at the back instead of the front, and any wires along the inside get frayed and quickly short out. The P4 aircraft itself has to be modded, and it is a royal pain to do! Two MaxAmp 2800 mAh batteries will work nicely. Two are more than 350g, but still under 500g, and work just fine.
     
  5. IBV

    IBV

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Sweden
    sounds like a painful process.where I can get these batteries or are the new type lipos with more energy density available?
    if I would know what wires to hook on I'd the the mod myself. Is there a kind of manual available?
    When using silicon flat wires there should be no problem to mod on the battery itself. I guess the temperature will never exceed 120 deg.celcsius...
     
    #5 IBV, Jun 25, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2016
  6. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,316
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    Maxamps are awesome! You could start out with 2000 MAH, they get 30 minutes on the P3 and are very light and compact. Can you post some pics here of the flat silicone wires
     
    #6 dirtybum, Jun 25, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2016
  7. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,316
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1466864632.920016.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1466864650.354811.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1466864670.171002.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1466864698.061477.jpg
    Doing the battery will be a pain also. But I'm willing to try if those wires look promising you're talking about
     
  8. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,316
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    Phantom 4 Power Mod V3.1
     
  9. IBV

    IBV

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Sweden
    Thanks for the tip. This looks really great. Gotta hurry up before UK crumbles to ashes...
     
  10. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,316
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    You're not kidding man, good luck.
    Do you have a link to those flat silicone wires?
     
  11. IBV

    IBV

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Sweden
    I'm on the way home from South and will be back tomorrow. I will the try to find the supplier. I was seeing these cables on robots in the industry. Very flexible and temperature resistent.
    How many ampere is supposed to go through this cable? DC and below 20V these cables are definitely suitable. I"LL check it out and let you know.
     
    dirtybum likes this.
  12. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,316
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    Alright, got this thing back together!! Here's a couple pics of the last half of the mod. ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1466922726.172202.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1466922735.403829.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1466922742.971204.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1466922753.320579.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1466922760.989126.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1466922771.191325.jpg
    Again, this is pain in the A**!
    Hire FPV Customs, its worth your hard earned money
     
    IBV likes this.
  13. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,316
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    BTW, i havent even fired this thing up yet! We'll know in the morn if I got it right or not! I'll let ya know
     
  14. IBV

    IBV

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Sweden
    Looks great. Curious to hear your results! How many amps you need to get through thesse cables?
     
  15. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,316
    Likes Received:
    1,790
  16. IBV

    IBV

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    Sweden
    That's awesome. I'll check for these cables tonight. What antennas did you use? and boosters?

    Here some link to a double line flat. or single round silicon (180 degrees Celsius)
    There is also other versions. Important is that the outer par is made of silicon and rather flexible.
    German industry cables:
    http://www.faberkabel.de/upload/datenblaetter/Datenblaetter/DE/DBL_H05RNH2F.PDF
    http://www.faberkabel.de/upload/datenblaetter/Datenblaetter/DE/DBL_H05SJK.PDF
    http://www.voelkner.de/products/529396/Litze-SiF-1-x-4-mm-Schwarz-Helukabel-Meterware.html
     
  17. Afastboy

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    [​IMG][​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  18. Afastboy

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    [​IMG]


    The entirety



    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  19. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,316
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    You have taped off the VPS and have had no problems? I taped it off at strapped the 5.2 MultiStar underneath at my first flight had no problems. Went to do the same this morning and had problems check it out, you haven't had any issues though
    Foward vision sensor calibration error?
     
  20. Afastboy

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    I had that error after doing the birdside mod and had to recalibrate vision sensors which fixed the error.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app