Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3S Weak signal

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by DjiGoten, Jun 14, 2016.

  1. DjiGoten

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi guys,
    Got my P3S today (exciting) I took it to around 100m in the air and it was saying weak transmission signal but the video was fine. Is it ok to continue to fly the aircraft from that position ?
     
  2. Dilan Darshana

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hey bro you are not the only one having this issue.. i m loosing radio signal at 40m - 60m.. some people loose video signal.. it comes with the new 1.6.80 update, and thee are lot of people out there having the same issue.. if you ask DJI they will say to send the drone back to repair, that is the only thing they say and still there is no clear solution for this.. but we can wait for another fixed firmware upgrade, yesterday came a new firmware for phantom 3 pro, so I hope standard will also get new one very soon, and if it is not going to fix the problem, we all have send i back, including you and me..
     
    Jeandre likes this.
  3. Pharm

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    251
    2 things to check first:

    1. Is it directly above you? Not recommended because of that very issue.

    2. Is the antenna on your RC correctly oriented? It should be parallel to the legs of the phantom.

    I experienced a similar issue flying my P3S the first time and the problem was that it was directly overhead. Being there, even with the antenna properly oriented, it was still not getting a good signal. Once I flew it a few feet away (30 feet maybe), signal strength returned and all was well. That may or may not be your issue but give it a try.
     
  4. DjiGoten

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes you are correct I was flying it directly above me. I will try not to do that next time and see what happens.
    Thanks for the advice
     
  5. DjiGoten

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes it does seem to happen to quite a few people, I hope dji rectify the problem soon.
     
  6. Pharm

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    251
    Yw. Hope it helps. I've only been flying about a month and a half but I've learned a lot. Once you're comfortable, you need to get the Litchi app. You'll be amazed at what you can do!
     
  7. DjiGoten

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks I will be sure to get that
     
  8. knipfer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    39
    I've had some signal issues as well, I've been using a windsurfer and can still get 2,000 ft out, more in some cases. However, I've had instances where I will loose signal and RTH within 800 ft (not too much interference). Like others said, hopefully the next firmware update will have signal / range improvements.
     
  9. SimonH78

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    UK-Lancashire
  10. jackhadrill

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry to thread hijack - the video transmission range on my P3S has been butchered down to about 40 metres by the latest firmware update. The controller will still push commands to the Phantom beyond that distance. Just wondering if this is a common issue or a hardware fault?

    I know it's not a lot to go by, but hopefully someone will have an idea!

    Can't wait to get flying properly so that I can give back to this forum! I've had two P3 Standards now, both had faults... A real shame considering what they should be capable of :mad:
     
  11. knipfer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    39
    Pretty clever idea. Might have to do a test using CD's! What is the significance for using 3 blank CD's vs. one (why does it need to be so thick)?
     
  12. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    361
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    #12 RodPad, Jun 15, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2016
  13. knipfer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    39
  14. toegema

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    41
    All of these windsurfer extenders only apply to the antenna which on the Phantom 3 Standard only controls the bird. This does not do much good if the video link from the buildt in antennas are not boosted and you lose the video feed...


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  15. toegema

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    41
    All of these windsurfer extenders only apply to the antenna which on the Phantom 3 Standard only controls the bird. This does not do much good if the video link from the buildt in antennas are not boosted and you lose the video feed...
    The Pro/Adv that also uses the external antennas for both RC and video that's a different story.

    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  16. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    361
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Correct!
     
  17. WilliamM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    Lancaster, Pa.
    So in my mind there can be two issues at foot here. Do all the P3S have the exact same hardware? Might there be different chip sets on the board. Next just a corrupt install of the update itself. Since these P3S normally use wifi to install the firmware (which is a no no) with any other device, like a router or modem for example. I for one put all three (RC, drone, phone) within one foot of each other durning the install, and do it in a room as far away as can be from my home wifi router.
    This is why I'm saying this, finally got up the nerve to turn off the distance limiter, and went out just over the 1000m mark. With 1.6.80 and a Windsurfer mod with a P3S. No issues at all, had full RC control and video the whole time. Just had a little "image signal error message" on top of the Go app for a bit, but the image itself was clean.