Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3S standard range help!

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Frogdodger, Feb 13, 2016.

  1. Frogdodger

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought my P3S about 2 weeks ago and I can seem to go vertical far with it before my remote says signal weak, and then I lose signal. What is the average distance that a P3S is supposed to get right out of the box with no mods? I live in Houston, not sure if that help. I can usually not get it anywhere near out of LOS, I can usually fly it about 300ft high and about 400 feet out and I'll lose signal. Is this normal? How can I post my flights logs so you can see what I'm talking about?
     
  2. Frogdodger

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. Maverick81

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    20
    I believe the P3S comes factory defaulted to a limited range and within the settings there should be a place to turn off the distance and altitude settings and make them whatever you'd like. Not sure if you have seen this setting already?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. Frogdodger

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maverick, I have seen that and I also turned off the beginner mode which turns off the range limits.
     
  5. Maverick81

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    20
    huh maybe too much electrical interference coming from the inner city? Have you calibrated the mtu yet?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. Frogdodger

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey sir, I did all the calibrations. I'm in the suburbs. Should it go further than it is?
     
  7. Frogdodger

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's my flight log. You can see I don't get very far before I lose signal.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Sinisalo

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,360
    Likes Received:
    326
  9. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,612
    Likes Received:
    744
    Location:
    Australia
    You posted the notification log showing lost connection. How does the signal map look in H Drones? Will give an even better idea what's happening. Do you have the antennas vertical and parallel? Is your tablet/phone in airplane mode (with only wifi enabled)? You will be surprised how much surrounding wifi and other rf devices will effect your range by reducing signal to noise ratio.
     
  10. Tony Cowan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    283
    I can tell you for sure it all has to do with wifi interference. You won't get far in the burbs as everyone in your area has wifi. To test distance you need to go out and explore in the countryside or on the water. I just got a little under 7000ft 2 days ago. Unmodified remote out of box. So it's all based on what is around you. Since each area is different. So will be the results. Good luck. Eventually the more experience you get the more you will know how to push the limit of range if that is your objective. I know I could have pushed it further but at that point it was no need. As I had not seen My drone for almost 10 mins. It was time to come home.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. J-Boog

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    USA
    Also antenna aiming.
    The wifi antennas inside the controller are pointed directly forward.
    Like the beam is coming out of the font (top?) of the controller where the tilt wheel is. So that top part of the controller should be pointed at the Standard. But the dipole antenna should be 90 degree perpendicular to the craft.

    Once you get that dialed in you will find "your" maximum range in "your area".
    Then go explore some areas free of interference.
    Then you will know if your problem is "your area".

    Don't start moding your controller if you are getting bad results out of the box. You should return it and start with a good unit.
     
  12. DoeGala_73

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    So put in airplane mode with wifi enabled to get better range and less interference?
     
  13. marg2

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    27
    Where in Houston
     
  14. Frogdodger

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the feedback everyone! Looks like I have a few things to try out to see if it's just the area I'm in. I'm going to try and take it out into the country today, I'll let ya know the results.
     
  15. Frogdodger

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Marg2, I'm in West Houston, near Katy..
     
  16. nick59349

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    You may also pop the cover off and check the connections on the board. I found one connector not even snapped on and another with a bad crimp.
     
    martybabe likes this.
  17. marg2

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    27
    Katy 2 got a p2 and inspire
     
  18. marg2

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    27
    Cry Rd close to 529 lost of open area here
     
  19. marg2

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    27
    Fry sorry
     
  20. Frogdodger

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm near Fry and Morton. We are close.