Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3S not powering up.

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Propking, Dec 16, 2015.

  1. Propking

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I work at a heliport and have flown my previous phantoms, FC40 and F2V and have been able to fly here. I tried my new F3S but it will not power on, battery has indicators but does not power on. I downloaded an app to check drone no fly areas and it said I was in a no fly spot. Well went back to my hotel after work and checked the app and it said safe to fly but the P3S still will not power up. Anyone seen this yet ?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,981
    Likes Received:
    5,586
    Location:
    US
    Your Phantom will power on in a no fly zone too. You just won't be able to take off. Did you try a different battery?
     
  3. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Have you successfully started it in the past or is this the first time trying it? I assume you have set it up for the first time via the app?
     
  4. Propking

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Flown several times with no issues. I did the update recently and shut down and powered on to make sure it took. We were on vacation and this was the first time since we got back I tried to fly. So I don't know what the issue is now.
     
  5. Propking

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Louisiana
    And it's not in a no fly area so I do have an issue.
     
  6. Kneepuck

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    21
    Make sure your battery is freshly fully charged. LiPo battery has some funny features, guysa have been having aircraft fall out of the sky with what appeared to be 100% charge. Turns out they charged the battery several days before flight. Always start with a fully freshly charged battery.
     
  7. mandalay

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    145
    I assume you can turn on the battery and it's fully charged. Have you tried to re-calibrate the RC? I could not start mine the other day and I had to do this to get it up and flying again.
     
  8. RadRich

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    82
    Have you tried the steps to link your RC?

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Propking

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Wow, had a serious brain fart. I've been flying for a while now and forgot it push the battery button twice and hold to power up the phantom. Sign I'm getting old I guess.
     
  10. RadRich

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    82
  11. Propking

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Louisiana