Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3S imu

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Chris 17, May 21, 2016.

  1. Chris 17

    Joined:
    May 3, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Started up my p3s. Said imu error. Calibrate imu. Then said safe to fly gps. So I flew. The bird started to drift all by itself, rocked violently then fell out the sky and smashed the props to bits.
    Is it my fault for ignoring the imu error?
    I can send it back but have read horror stories of dji service.
    It's only 2 months old.
    I'm now afraid to use it.
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,116
    Likes Received:
    5,629
    Location:
    US
    If you'd like us to take a look at your flight log, upload the TXT file here and post a link back here.
     
  3. Chris 17

    Joined:
    May 3, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok. I followed the video. Much easier than the way dji told me to do it.
    I now have about 20 txt files. How do I find the correct one?
     
  4. Chris 17

    Joined:
    May 3, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Look at the message in the log at 2m 10.6s, That may be the start.
    I have no clue.
     
  6. Chris 17

    Joined:
    May 3, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    That was me bringing it home. Showing me mrs the nth function.
     
  7. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    That wasn't in your post!, just kidding, these guys need details, so you told it to RTH when it started to drift?


    Added:
    If msinger doesn't get back to, MASTER-4 should, that's my nickname for him!
     
    #7 RodPad, May 21, 2016
    Last edited: May 21, 2016
    Chris 17 likes this.
  8. Chris 17

    Joined:
    May 3, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    No only did Rth to show Mrs the function.
    It didn't start to drift until 2:40.
     
  9. Chris 17

    Joined:
    May 3, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's a video showing stick movement etc. You can see on the gimbal control on the right go mad as it bins itself.
    It's on the YouTubes as it wouldn't upload to here.
    It was on the floor upside down when I did csc

     
  10. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,116
    Likes Received:
    5,629
    Location:
    US
    It seems there might have been some kind of compass/GPS error that caused your Phantom to fly in the opposite direction. Switching to ATTI probably would have allowed you to recover from that problem.

    If you upload your DAT flight log, perhaps @BudWalker can take a look and give us his thoughts.
     
  11. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    To help this guy out and myself, flight data is connecting to the phantom and using the app to tell the phantom to download to a PC with the USB cable.
     
  12. BudWalker

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    231
    Location:
    Santa Margarita, Ca
    To see how to retrieve a .DAT go here. There is no app involved. The .DAT files appear in the File Manager. It will be large and can't be uploaded here. Most people upload the .DAT to Dropbox and then post the link here. Google Drive is another option.
     
    Chris 17 likes this.
  13. Chris 17

    Joined:
    May 3, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Flight data from drone via cable is unavailable due to a data recorder error.
    [​IMG]
     
  14. BudWalker

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    231
    Location:
    Santa Margarita, Ca
    The image isn't visible. Could you fix or try again please?
     
  15. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Thanks, I have downloaded the data, I now remember the file sizes, and I am correct using the cable and the app tells the phantom to do-it?

    Added:
    Your in the box now!
     
  16. BudWalker

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    231
    Location:
    Santa Margarita, Ca
    You're right. You gotta use the Go app to tell it to enter flight data mode. Then the .DAT appears as a file on a mounted disk drive.
     
  17. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,319
    Likes Received:
    1,793
    If it said safe to fly GPS, I would just send it to DJI you have nothing to lose. What all is broken on it
     
  18. Chris 17

    Joined:
    May 3, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Only broke the props. Had lowered it almost right down. Luckily.