Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3S Gimbal clamp

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by DjiGoten, Jun 14, 2016.

  1. DjiGoten

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi guys I am a complete newbie but I am wondering do I need to put the gimbal clamp back on after flights to preserve the gimbal motors or can I just leave it?
    I have a lens cover over the camera.
     
  2. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,196
    Likes Received:
    1,581
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    put it back on so you don't break gimble
     
    Squirrel! likes this.
  3. knipfer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    39
    I would just use it when your traveling or any sort of commute so it's not going berserk on your trip. Take 2 seconds to put it on vs. replacing a broken gimbal. Also, I found a polar pro gimbal clamp / lens protector all in one that makes it way quicker and easier.
     
  4. Squirrel!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    277
    Link?
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    24,804
    Likes Received:
    7,527
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
  6. Squirrel!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    277
    Thanks, but that is for the Pro. The standard has a different gimbal base. But you already knew that. ;)
     
  7. Squirrel!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    277
    And TWENTY BUCKS?!?!?! WTF?!
     
  8. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    24,804
    Likes Received:
    7,527
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    I guess you missed the description on that page? ;)

    "Fits DJI Phantom 3 Standard, Pro, Adv, 4k (Updated design April 2016)"
     
  9. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    24,804
    Likes Received:
    7,527
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    ... and, you missed the "Polar Pro" part too :D
     
  10. Squirrel!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    277
    That's just it, it doesn't fit the standard. Again, regardless of the "description" (which is wrong), the gimbal is different and it won't work. I've already been thru the '1 size fits all' crap and they aren't for the standard.
     
  11. Squirrel!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    277
    And you missed this too:

    " Question Does this not work on Phantom 3 Standard?
    Answer:
    Hi Matt,
    This specific model is for the Pro/Adv only, It will clamp right where your wires are on the standard,
    -PolarPro
     
  12. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    24,804
    Likes Received:
    7,527
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    I rarely miss much ;)

    Untitled.png

    The original design does not fit the P3S (due to the arm placement).

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Squirrel!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    277
    o_O That is different from the one linked to. And do you have a straight on shot? :D
     
  14. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    24,804
    Likes Received:
    7,527
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    It's the same product. As noted in the description, Polar Pro updated the design in April. Unfortunately, I don't have any control over when they choose to update their photos.
     
  15. Squirrel!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    277
  16. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    24,804
    Likes Received:
    7,527
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    Yes, sir. That's the original design. It most certainly will not fit the P3S. Polar Pro no longer sells it though.
     
    Squirrel! likes this.
  17. Squirrel!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    277
    If the pic doesn't match the description, I move on...;)
     
  18. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    24,804
    Likes Received:
    7,527
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    Maybe @PolarPro will update their photos soon :)
     
    Squirrel! likes this.
  19. AgnotGT

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California
    captainmilehigh and Squirrel! like this.
  20. Squirrel!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    277
    Isn't the 'DJI' part just a cutout? How snug does it fit over the lens barrel? Finally, so you have to put on the lens cover, then place the gimbal lock over the lens cover? Sounds like a pain in the *** if this is the way it is done.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - P3S Gimbal clamp Forum Date
P3S shipped with gimbal clamp loose Standard/4k Discussion May 31, 2016
Camera Gimbal Repair Australia P3S Standard/4k Discussion Wednesday at 11:03 PM
P3s gimbal won't speed up Standard/4k Discussion May 31, 2017
P3s gimbal disconnected. Pro/Adv Discussion Apr 20, 2017
Standard P3S Gimbal/Camera completely Insane after upgrading to 1.8.10! HELP!!! (Video Provided) Phantom 3 Help Apr 11, 2017