Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3S Antenna swap testing

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by happytreefriends, Sep 27, 2015.

  1. happytreefriends

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    32
    I'm going to try a bunch of different Antennas to extend the 5.8Ghz Control and 2.4Ghz Wifi/Video ranges in an ongoing Thread.

    ANyone can add anything related to this discussion. The more ideas the better.

    I installed an RP-SMA connector in place of the stock antenna mast so I can test things out easily.
    [​IMG]
    (Notes : I glued down the cables for the SP1 & SP2 switches as they were literally in front of the 2.4Ghz Patch Antennas. Make sure you guys do that too as that can impede the signal also).

    [​IMG]

    Stock white antenna gave me 1000-1200feet distance from my house at 250feet height, with line of sight over trees. Behind trees with limited Line Of Sight, it was 800 feet.

    I attached a 5db antenna (#2) and I got 2130feet distance at 250feet, struggling to get Line of Sight through trees. So just by that Antenna swap I gained about 800feet.

    Next I will try Antenna #1 which is a tri-pole 6DB I had. I'll report back in.
     
    witold likes this.
  2. Timritchieblue

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    28
    Thanks, I seen these antennas on eBay. Glad to see some results
     
  3. Scott Gibson

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    26
    Happy,

    Have you considered doing the DBS01 full mod like I've done? You'll be happy with the ranges. I ripped out all those 2.4GHz patch antennas. I haven't fully "maxed" out horizontal distance, but I'm easily getting well over 3000ft out near a popular sports lake full of cottages here in MI. I know Dataa has mentioned he's gotten up to 2.8 miles with that DBS01.
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  4. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Would you or could you test the stock antenna through the RP-SMA connector? What's does the stock antenna look like on the inside?
     
  5. Scott Gibson

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    26
    Rod,

    No you can not. I tried attaching a pic of the stock antennae here that you can see, although the white housing is out of the pic, you'd be able to see what I'm talking about.


    Sorry......I found the issue, its here at my office it will not let me upload pics! You should see it now :)
     

    Attached Files:

    #5 Scott Gibson, Sep 28, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2015
  6. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    D'oh!, I was spacing out, I probably posted the first picture of the inside of P3s remote.
    So the cable must just go to the top tip?
    Some point the shield has to stop and become an antenna. Must be the same as the two antennas on the craft.
     
  7. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    I have same problems uploading pictures, I am the owner and setup our LAN. ;)
    Remember its Monday and BIG-MOON Week.
     
    iquadtography likes this.
  8. happytreefriends

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    32
    I cut the stock antenna apart and will post a pic of it.
    It is basically a basic dipole with two small sealed cylindrical tubes in a vertical arrangements. Bottom ground.

    I haven't decided on a dbs1 setup yet. Curious to see what other options are out there.
    I wanted to try a windsurfer after I test a few diff antennas.
     
  9. happytreefriends

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    32
    I am looking for the specs of the 2.4Ghz patch antennas but they have no discerning markings on them. I'll contact DJI to see if they'll help.
     
  10. happytreefriends

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    32
    *UPDATE*
    Slightly stormy weather, cloudy, and something is up with GPS's as even my phone's GPS was losing signal while driving around the state (which it never does). So I chalk down bad signal day today.

    Today I tested : Straight up with antenna laying down flat to get most signal to go straight up.
    Stock antenna : 638ft, then loss of signal (Video fine).
    Stock antenna with windsurfer : 1112ft, then loss of signal (Video Fine)
    Antenna #1 : 1536ft, then loss of signal
    Antenna #2 : 1056ft, then loss of signal

    It was also very windy as I could see the P3S almost sideways trying to keep stationary in the video.

    I have to go try horizontal if I can find a very long and clear field around me.
     
  11. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,257
    Likes Received:
    1,618
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Not likely a bad signal day, but don't be too discouraged yet as straight up is the worst orientation between the quad and controller regardless of how the controller's antennas are oriented.

    Dipoles and have a toroidal response or radiation pattern and thus the ends are the worst or least sensitive/effective.
     
    #11 N017RW, Sep 30, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2015
    dirkclod likes this.
  12. happytreefriends

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    32
    Here is the stock antenna's guts.

    [​IMG]
    Surprised it worked as well as it did. LOL
     
  13. garrock

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Portsmouth Ohio USA
    It's a Sleeve Antenna. This one appears to be designed to provide a wide bandwidth. DJI knows what they are doing.
     
  14. happytreefriends

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    32
    I'm not sure I'd say that. It's a very basic Sleeve antenna . Not really efficient by design, sturdy though. The top cylinder did not have the wire in it, it was just connected to the cable at the bottom.

    The transmitter for the control (not the Wifi) must be putting out some good power to get the range this thing gives with the stock antenna.

    Wish we could test the wattage.

    I gotta get to that range to check this thing out (although I have decided to buy a P3Pro or Advanced in a few days. Lightbridge is calling my name. :)
     
    iquadtography likes this.
  15. garrock

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Portsmouth Ohio USA
    The top cylinder does not need the wire in it because it replaces the wire. That is, the top cylinder is the center feed element.
     
    robiefield likes this.
  16. Scott Gibson

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    26
    HappyTree,

    What are you doing with your P3S? Will you just sell it on CL or Ebay?
     
  17. happytreefriends

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    32
    I'll probably sell it here since I already modded the controller, after I have the new 1.

    Might do a range comparison between the 2 first though.
     
  18. Scott Gibson

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    26
    That's not a bad idea. Since this is such a fun project, I wouldn't mind doing the same thing (of course I wouldn't make mine any cheaper than yours if I did, wouldn't be fair). I don't think my wife would go for getting another one though if I hadn't sold the first already..........LOL.

    Will you do a DBS mod on the P3A/P3P?
     
  19. garrock

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Portsmouth Ohio USA
    resell price ???
     
  20. Scott Gibson

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    26
    Not sure what a fair price would be for a modded P3S? I have the DBS01. I think Happytree just swapped antennas but doesn't have the Wi-Fi booster.