Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3Pro - 2.7K?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by BigAl07, Oct 12, 2015.

  1. BigAl07

    BigAl07 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    1,267
    Location:
    Western North Carolina
    I realize many will probably say "Why?" but I was wondering if I've missed something or just don't have a clue..

    I'd like to shoot in 2.7K but I don't see that as an option for the P3P. It jumps from 1080p up to 4K with no steps in between. I see where in the P3A that 2.7K was enabled via a FW update but I don't see that in P3P.

    If I'm missing something please point me in the right direction.

    Thanks in advance,
    Allen
     
    skyhighdiver, nickyb and JKDSensei like this.
  2. phantom13flyer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    404
    Only the standard and the advance currently have 2.7k resolution. I'm hoping a future fw update for the p3 will add 2.7k resolution as well. I would like to shot in 2.7 k too.
     
    skyhighdiver and BigAl07 like this.
  3. StratocasterDave

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    30
    Next update should have that I would guess.
     
    BigAl07 likes this.
  4. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,932
    Likes Received:
    1,808
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    DJI has said the P3P will not support 2.7K.
     
  5. StratocasterDave

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    30
    Ah bummer. The guys at the DJI Experience conference in St Louis Park on Saturday eluded to them maybe having it in future updates.
     
  6. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,542
    Likes Received:
    1,488
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Funny how this happens, huh? Only an occasional thread about 2.7K on the P3P since the related threads died down shortly after the Sept 7th FW update. Now suddenly three separate threads with the same question in about 16 hours. I find that so interesting.

    Anyway, I think it's kind of strange that DJI chose to not include 2.7K for the P3P. Part of me thinks that unless there is some bizarre hardware limitation, they will eventually add it even though they say no at the moment. To me, a P3P with 2.7K and 4K would be the perfect drone (value wise) with current consumer tech.
     
    #6 Oso, Oct 12, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2015
  7. JKDSensei

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    USA
    Does anyone know if it's a hardware limitation or just a corporate decision?

    Could be they want to reserve that as a selling point for the next gen offering?
     
  8. BigAl07

    BigAl07 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    1,267
    Location:
    Western North Carolina

    I completely agree. I love having the ability to shoot in 4K but it's not the ideal compromise for most of my projects and to be honest very few of the people I work with can handle 4K. Yes I know it can be rendered down but that's just another step that isn't needed for most projects.

    It's funny you mention the (3) threads in 16 hours. I've been meaning to start this post for a few weeks now and kept forgetting. Over the weekend I shot a lot of video in 4K and made up my mind I was going to at least ask about 2.7K when I got back to my computer for once and for all LOL!

    Maybe others did the same thing :)
     
    Oso likes this.
  9. blinkpunk92

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yes, it's a hardware issue, not a decision. I would love to have 2.7k. I just bought a second p3p and no kind of regret it and wish I got an advanced
     
  10. BigAl07

    BigAl07 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    1,267
    Location:
    Western North Carolina
    I was always under the impression that the hardware was the same between P3A and P3P but the FW was the limiting factor.

    Now I've learned something :)
     
  11. blinkpunk92

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    12
    Me too until they announced that the reason the p3p doesnt have 2.7 is because of the hardware. Maybe the hardware in the camera is just slightly different
     
    BigAl07 likes this.
  12. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,932
    Likes Received:
    1,808
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    As I wrote in the other 2.7K thread:

    "2.7K is the best image setting for the imager and SOC hardware being used. Unfortunately, DJI has indicated there is a hardware limitation somewhere else in the Pro that prevents it from being used."

    Both the imager and SOC fully support 2.7K. I shoot in 2.7K all the time on the GoPro Hero 4 which shares the same imager and SOC.
     
    ObiDon, B- Scene Films and BigAl07 like this.