Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3P video quality

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by amused2deth, Jun 8, 2015.

  1. amused2deth

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    13
    So today was my first flight and after downloading the video to my computer I watched the videos. All were choppy and discolored at the top. Everything was on stock settings. Two videos at 4k and 4 at 1080p. Anyone know what might be going on? I have a high end computer so I don't think that is it. Maybe try the video on a different device? I'm new to having a drone so any help is greatly appreciated and needed! Thanks!

    Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk
     
  2. Trumple

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    UK
    Kinda hard to see what you mean, maybe upload a short clip to YouTube so we can see?
     
    750r likes this.
  3. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
    Try a different memory card ? What card are you using ?
    Like above short clip will help .
     
  4. amused2deth

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    13
    Using the Lexar that came with it. Put the videos on my phone and it's only choppy. I'll put a video on YouTube now.

    Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk
     
  5. barefootbeachcombing

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    US
    What kind of computer are you using?
     
  6. amused2deth

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    13


    Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk
     
  7. amused2deth

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    13
    Somehow it plays fine on YouTube. I have an AMD 3.0 6-Core with 16GB RAM and a EVGA 970GTX video card. On my computer it has multi colored lines at the top and on my phone its only choppy but clear video. Note 4. I'm at a loss.

    Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk
     
  8. mikedaniels

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    6
    amused2, just looking at the playback of youtube, you have it set to 50, which is PAL. I don't now what country you are in but if it's usa your frame rate should be 24.30 or60fps. 4Kfps. is 24 or 30. Choppy video is probably slow data rate. I think the problem is in your computer set-up. Make sure you can handle 4K 30fps first.
     
  9. amused2deth

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    13
    Cool, thanks bro! I'll have to try that. My settings didn't have a 60fps option on 1080p. Just had 24 or 50. Will try it Thurs.

    Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk
     
  10. amused2deth

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    13
    So I watched the videos in QuickTime and it was choppy n multicolored at the top but if I use VLC player they play smooth and look great. Anyone know why? What can I change? Codecs corrupt?

    Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk
     
  11. Milehighdesign

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    85
    I had the same issue with quick time and 4k. I haven't found an answer yet.
     
  12. PhantomFilters

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    48
    The choppiness is most likely caused by (too) high shutter speed. You could most likely benefit from ND (neutral density) filters.

    [Deleted content]

    [Moderator edit: Selling is allowed in the classifieds.]
     
    #12 PhantomFilters, Jun 12, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 13, 2015
    Trumple likes this.
  13. amused2deth

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    13
    So my 1080p options are 24, 25, 48 and 50. I thought it was supposed to get 60? If there is a NTSC/PAL option, where is it? I'm in the US and on android which has only 1/4 the options that iOS does.

    Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk
     
  14. PhantomFilters

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    48
    Yes, there is a NTSC/PAL setting. Hit the Camera Settings button (above the Shutter Button), hit "More" and scroll down. There you can select either NTSC or PAL. And you need NTSC for 30/60 FPS.

    Remember; you have to be connected to the Phantom 3 in order for you to change and keep the settings.

    I'm on iOS, but I am pretty sure THAT part is also in the Android app! :)
     
  15. amused2deth

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    13
    So let it be said: download the app from DJI and not the Google store. Different for some reason although they are both the same version. I now have the NTSC/PAL option and more.

    Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk
     
  16. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,751
    Likes Received:
    1,093
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    And now the version on the play store is a more recent version. Uninstall the old one and download from the store.