Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3P pictures "fuzzy"

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Woodsong, Aug 31, 2016.

  1. Woodsong

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    69
    So I seem to be having an issue with my P3P in that the video is nice and crisp but the still photos are definitely not and feel a bit on the fuzzy side of things. I am having to go back in and edit each photo I use and adjust the sharpness which is irritating having to do each time. I am not sure if it is my camera settings or not. The attached photos were shot with the "auto" camera settings. One picture is the original right off the SD card, the other with sharpness only adjusted. I'm not sure if the difference in sharpness in the photos will show up on the forum but i can see it in person. :)
    Anyone else have this issue and how did you resolve it?
    House Original.JPG House Sharpened.jpg
     
  2. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    1,474
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    I've seen several threads with this same topic, but I don't recall any particular root cause fix other than settings, monitor resolution, or the P3 camera is just better at video. (Just noting what I recall others had posted in response)

    Here's one of the threads from a quick search. It has a link to another of the threads. Maybe it will help lead you to something useful. Good luck sir.

    Before I ship it back...
     
  3. Flipsonic

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Those wavy lines are called "moire". What is Moiré? <<< Click

    Also, it looks that there is a lot of noise in the pic.

    Please share your still camera settings. You might have sharpness set too high. My still shots do not look like that.

    Edit: When I first saw your pics, I saw the moire effect. Just revisited the thread and I don't see it anymore...weird. Also, all the noise is gone. Did you change the pics?

     
    #3 Flipsonic, Aug 31, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2016
  4. Solar Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Same problem here. I stopped using still photos and just take 1080P screen grabs of the video. 4K would be even better, but my hardware is lacking right now. They are much sharper and are excellent. You can choose from any of the 30 frames a second so you never miss the perfect timing of any situation you are capturing. Plus, your video isn't broken up in to a bunch of smaller files.

    SD