Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional P3P main board replacement was supposed to be part 33, doesn't match

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by codysims, Apr 22, 2016.

  1. codysims

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    6
    I had a crash that pushed the IMU/controller/gyro box right through the center of the main board, so I started looking for a replacement board. I learned that there are original and updated versions of the board, part 33 for 2312 motors, part 96 for 2312A motors. I have 2312 motors that still work, so I thought I'd just get the original board rather than having to get all new motors as well. I found that DJI's site has "not available in your region" for part 33, so I found one at an authorized DJI dealer.

    It came in a DJI box with a Part 33 label, and it was sealed. It also came with an instruction card on distinguishing between the original and updated versions of the board. Here's the problem, though.. the board in the box doesn't match either. The card shows that original should have a label with first line ending in "A" and updated ending in "B". The board in the box ends in "C" and looks more like a "B" board.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    For reference, here is an "A" board, part 33:
    [​IMG]
    and a "B" board, part 96:
    [​IMG]

    Could this "C" board perhaps be compatible with 2312 motors, or is this just a mistake? Thought I'd check here to see if anyone knows about this, wasn't able to find anything in search. Thanks!
     
  2. codysims

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    6
    Just thought I'd update this post in case someone else finds it via search. The "C" board is backward compatible, this info came directly from DJI. I've got it installed with 2312 motors, working great.
     
    Dronason and sacooke like this.
  3. Trackman1

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Good for you. Posting back. Even though you didn't get any help, you still came back to let people know how things turned out.
     
    codysims likes this.
  4. jiminyfixit

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm in the middle of the same main C.B. replacement and received a #96. It has the plain, large, thick, square chip, next to the ribbon coming out of the accelerometer/gimbal. The earlier version, #33, has printing on it.

    I was told by the supplier that the earlier motors, (2312) will not work with the #96 board so I got new 2312A motors. The new problem is that there are 4, small vertical tabs surrounding the 4 motor screw holes that prevent the new motors from seating all the way down in the arm.. So, the question is, can I clip those small tabs to allow the new motors to seat, or do I need to change the shell? I will post my results for the benefit of future Pilot DIY'ers.
     
  5. jiminyfixit

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    3
    My main board supplier, (RC Parts 4you), sent me photos of the newer version P3 Pro with the newer motors and the tabs have slots in them. Same size and shape tabs, so a made up a fixture that has a slot in it, that is centered on the tab. I then use a thin blade attachment on my soldering iron and carefully melt a slot in the tab. Clean off melted residue and fit motors. Perfect! I now have a perfect working P3 Pro.
     
  6. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Late, but big thanks for confirming this. It avoid me a big return story on Ebay with a seller. As my P3 are both a year old and I don't plan to get a P4 I have to plan long term and get some spares. Now a day Part #33 are rare or really expensive and I have already shells and motors as spare.
    Again THANKS.
     
    codysims likes this.