Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3P. lost signal.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by maxwell smart, Jan 8, 2016.

  1. maxwell smart

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi all. Yesterday the Son came out and the wind died, so I went for flight #3.[ I have the old motors.]
    Did the warm up compass call. good, fresh charge on battery. I flew around my neighborhood. I had been in the air for about 6 min. At 3000 feet out about 120 feet up. The signal starts to break- up and I turn around and head back,. Now this is where I get the safe to fly in nonGPS mode??? [I have 15 sat] And the Phantom is not responding to my stick movement, It is just hovering. I walk around to get better LOS ,[ there is a big tree near by]. I hit RTH, and nothing it just hovers there. This all happen in a few seconds. I did get control back after I moved a bit from the tree. And got home safe. I landed with 65% battery.
    Now I am scared to fly, because I don't know why RTH did not work. My P2 would go in to RTH at about the same spot I was at, with the P3.?? I don't Know anything about healthy drones, or flight data. I will have to look at that.
    I see a lot of post where P3 have fallen out of the sky. So did I do some thing wrong or should RTH have worked.???? Thanks for any input.
     
  2. stuartbp

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    16
    My guess is that you lost connection with the bird behind the tree. The P3 did not receive the manual RTH command from the controller if you had lost connection, but when you moved and got a connection again it didn't have time to get into automatic RTH function on it's own.

    Did you have to cancel RTH when you did re-gain control?
     
  3. maxwell smart

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Texas
    No, it never went into RTH. You my be right, but I am nerves about it.
     
  4. stuartbp

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    16
    Given a few more seconds with no connection from the controller it should start the RTH process on its own. I'm sure it's an uncomfortable feeling losing connection.
     
  5. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,751
    Likes Received:
    1,093
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Simple way to test. Fly out 100 ft and shut off the controller.
     
  6. maxwell smart

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Texas
    Next nice day we get I will try RTH.
    I was getting worried when there was no response to stick inputs.
     
  7. Apilot101

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    53
    Make sure you set the RTH height above any tree tops.