Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3P Gimbal motor overload - Cannot fix

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by johnnyeaker, Oct 9, 2016.

  1. johnnyeaker

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    This "Gimbal Motor Overload" error had just now shown up when trying to power up the AC. Camera won't stop rotating around and Go App says The error message.

    Any suggestions? Is the gimbal toast?

    [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,023
    Likes Received:
    5,599
    Location:
    US
    Is this a brand new Phantom? If not, please give us the backstory. Did you crash it, drop it, try to repair something, etc.?
     
  3. johnnyeaker

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    I bought it used. Supposedly no crashes before I bought it. Had probably 15 flights with no problems.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,023
    Likes Received:
    5,599
    Location:
    US
    Did you try this?

     
  5. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    1,659
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    What happened before it started giving this error?

    There are signs that one motor got stuck or burned or its cable is shorted.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  6. johnnyeaker

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    This looks like my error. I'll give this adjustment a shot. Thank you!


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
    #6 johnnyeaker, Oct 9, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2016
  7. johnnyeaker

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Only thing I can think of is that I had to valet check my drone bag on a flight (my case is a soft case) and when I opened the case the camera had popped off. I put it back on and had a successful flight but something is up.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
    #7 johnnyeaker, Oct 9, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2016
  8. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,023
    Likes Received:
    5,599
    Location:
    US
    Ah, well, things are making more sense now. It sounds like your Phantom took a big hit somewhere. I'd recommend you send it in for repair if the adjustment in the video above does not resolve your issue.
     
  9. johnnyeaker

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    It's better after the YouTube fix as the camera isn't going crazy. But I still get the gimbal overload error. It goes between "normal" and the error.

    Who is recommended for repairs by this forum?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  10. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,023
    Likes Received:
    5,599
    Location:
    US
    You can find some repair shops here.
     
  11. johnnyeaker

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    I checked over the white shock absorbers and one had a tear in it. Replaced all and now no error. But gimbal is a bit noisy.... Any suggestions?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  12. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,023
    Likes Received:
    5,599
    Location:
    US
    Please post a video so we can hear it.
     
  13. johnnyeaker

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Fired up the drone this morning and same gimbal error. Just shipped it off to ATK Drones in Utah after a great conversation with Jim. Will advise how this turns out. Thanks again!


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots