Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3P Follow Me Mode

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by The Vic, May 5, 2016.

  1. The Vic

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi all, if you are using the Follow Mode and you came to a hill you wanted to ascend, would the P3P self adjust the height as you were ascending or would it stay at the height you set it to in the app ?. Am I correct in thinking that the Quad calculates the height from the RC constantly ?. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,124
    Likes Received:
    1,653
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Quad will not calculate the height automatically in DJI Follow me mode..
     
  3. The Vic

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    Glad I asked as I was going to try it out on a hill climb and wasn't sure if it would end up flying into the hillside the higher up I went.
     
  4. The Vic

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks, by the way.
     
  5. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,124
    Likes Received:
    1,653
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    In Follow me mode and Tracking apps site elevations and GPS satellites seen by the devices are very important planning parameters. Inaccurate elevation and heights of other on the way obstructions' estimations may lead to crashes.
     
  6. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,516
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    It will... but only to a degree that it probably won't prevent a crash.

    If you have VPS turned on the P3 will attempt to stay about 10 feet above the ground as it gets lower. However, this is not very accurate or fast. So there is a _good_ possibility that it will still hit something.
     
  7. The Vic

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    So it's always best to set a safe height before ascending up a hill then. I understand it now. Thanks for the heads up.
     
  8. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,124
    Likes Received:
    1,653
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I would definitely avoid using VPS on hilly area and in bright area where the ground may have uneven surfaces or covered with snow.
     
  9. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,516
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    VPS does not function when there is a GPS lock. It also only functions when the P3 is 10' or lower.
     
  10. sdharris

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    South West, England
    Autopilot from Autoflight Logic would account for height changes provided its not in front and the incline too steep as it uses the iPhone or iPads barometer or GPS receiver for altitude.
     
  11. The Vic

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks SDH. Thats food for thought as somewhere down the line I was thinking of purchasing Autopilot. I have read a lot of good things about Autopilot on this site and others.