Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3P Firmware V1.07.0043 PLUS APP

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by flyNfrank, Jan 2, 2016.

  1. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,211
    Likes Received:
    907
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Not many are aware of this but firmware 1.07.0043 is out for the P3P, P3A, and Inspire1. It's located in the GEO Systems page on dji.com. Scroll to the bottom of dji.com and select GEO Systems.

    The APP is also updated. It has stuff all related to your location. You have the option to disable it if you don't want it showing up on your google map at any point. There is also an area where you go to make request with dji for approval to fly in certain zones.

    The best part is.....the 32 Channel mod works with the version number posted. This is a beta version and not a published released version. It can and likely will change in some way prior to being the published version.

    I have yet to even load the published version of 1.5.3 yet. I'm on a version that the speed is not effected. Not sure what route I want go, if I even do.
     
  2. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,517
    Likes Received:
    1,474
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    I've seen a thread or two about it, and several grossly inaccurate stories in the media about the new FW.

    Frank - you need separate Phantoms for personal use and for beta testing use!
     
  3. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,211
    Likes Received:
    907
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    What I would really be happy with is the ability to change settings per my own liking, such as the speed mph more then any other. When we lost the ability to no longer load backwards, and our flight distance was drastically reduced, I nearly didn't get any sleep until I found someone with the ability to hack the FW and allow us to load backwards again. I can't rely anymore as he was offered and now working for dji. lol

    Anyone out there want to try to make the P3 fly faster? :D
     
  4. salibaj

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    3
    I went back to 1.5 from 1.6. I tried it today and it was so sluggish. Even the brake does not work as it was. Did not tried the roll back yet, I hope it came how it was. Does 1.7 effect speed?
     
  5. MoOriginal

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    23
    Subscribed
     
  6. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,211
    Likes Received:
    907
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    I'm sure it does effect the speed. That will never change, unless we either request a revision by a large number of pilots, or unless some write a hack or builds a plug in device to over come the restriction.
     
  7. djsydvicious

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    10
    I'm scared to try it since I'm in the DC area. I don't want to to be the first to try the 15-30 mile Authoritative Zone which requires a credit card. I want to hear that it works.

    It's bad enough that have to drive 20-30 minutes just to fly. If they push me to having to drive 30 miles from the white house I will probably freak out.

    Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
     
  8. fordruid

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Doesn't it say credit card OR mobile phone number? Let them text you and reply to it
     
  9. nollzr

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    8
    Im new to all this and find this stuff very interesting. What do you mean by the best part is the 32 channel mod? Is that used for the hd signal feed? Also how long does dji test this before its out for a full release?
     
  10. nollzr

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    8
    Will this update fix issues with the p3p like no signal and vibrations? Or is it just putting in place the new mapping features and no-fly fly zones
     
  11. jasonb777

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Jacksonville n.c.
    I will give a 100 bucks to anyone that will design a firmware with the ability to adjust speed, and do away with the battery "failsafe" stupid firmware.:D If we get enough people together to pledge a donation, I'm sure one of these computer genius's will make something for us.:cool:
     
    aka1ceman and skyhighdiver like this.
  12. force1164

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ok guys I guess I missed something I did the latest firmware update last week and since its been snowing here in Texas I have been waiting for a decent day to fly. I picked today to fly and I got this can someone please tell me how I do this update?

    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1451778180.493543.jpg
     
  13. jorgeszabo

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Houston, TX

    Put the .bin file for the latest firmware (1.6.040) on the root of the Micro SD card as if you were updating the aircraft. Power on the remote and then the aircraft and, if your Phantom is already on this firmware, the battery firmware upgrade process will take place. It takes about 2 minutes per battery and you have to do it for every battery you have.

    J
     
  14. spindrift

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Canada
    Death by a thousand cuts! Another update. You can go back but will eventually have to upgrade for one reason or another. Seems like a minor upgrade.Wonder if they could have waited for some bigger fix?
     
  15. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,211
    Likes Received:
    907
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    I'll match you $100 making it $200. Bring on the genius!
     
  16. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,211
    Likes Received:
    907
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Anyone have a recent flight log while flying with 1.6.4 they don't mind sharing? I need to confirm when the power reduction is taking place.
     
  17. skeeterest

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm in for another $100, so now we're up to $300...Go geniuses!!
     
  18. aka1ceman

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    175
    Ill add $100
     
  19. aka1ceman

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    175
    Same here. You wont find me updating till I know everything about it. warsi.jpg
     
  20. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,211
    Likes Received:
    907
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    This maybe a good time for me to explain this Geo System the best that I currently know it. From what I understand is, this system will unlock all the areas you request. In my observation, it will take any and all responsibility out of dji's lap and place it in yours. If you chose to break the law, that will be between you and whatever agency area you violated. You register through dji with your email address and by using either a credit card, cell phone number, or something else that I forgot.It is free with no cost.

    So at any rate, someone planted bad seeds and put fear in many that this was going to be something that it is not, including myself, that is until I dug into it some. Now there is some out there that still feel that there is more to this. And if there is, there is not much that can be done about it at this point. I myself believe that it is just what I first mentioned which was that it is something that removes dji from all aspects of it. And that's all I know for now.
     
    MindFever likes this.