Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3P firmware update -- how?

Discussion in 'Firmware' started by Mario P., May 18, 2015.

  1. Mario P.

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    Just got my P3P, which is also my first quad.

    Looking at the Pilot's option, is says that firmware is latest, but how do I know?

    Also, when firmware update is avail, will I need to do it from a PC with USB cable, or will the Pilot app download it to the controller and to the bird thru the lightbridge?
     
    #1 Mario P., May 18, 2015
    Last edited: May 18, 2015
  2. Rider82

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    10
    You download the firmware file to your computer, then place it on the microSD card. Insert the microSD card into the camera, and follow the directions that were included with the firmware. To update the controller firmware, insert the SD card with a card reader, into the USB plug on the controller, and follow the same directions that came with the firmware!

    To check if firmware was up-to-date, or updated, or failed, put the card back in your computer and check the text file :)

    Happy updating!
     
  3. Shatty

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    17
    I like the way the p2 did updates. Just connect to computer and click update. The p3 is more complicated.
     
  4. Mario P.

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    So how do I check what firmware I currently have on both devices?
    The pilot app only displays "firmware is latest".
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,525
    Location:
    US
  6. Mario P.

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    Thanks man.
     
  7. TulsaReiner

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    This is super stupid, but where do I find the root directory on the micro SD card from the camera?
    When I open the card on my Mac laptop, I see only 1 folder and it is labeled "Media100."
    It seems to only contain pictures I have taken, and a folder labeled "construction pics by P3A."
    Do I just drop the bin file that I downloaded from DJI in the Media100 folder? Then reinsert the microSD card in the camera?
     
  8. Mario P.

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    Root folder is the main folder.
    Media100 is a subfolder of root.
     
    TulsaReiner likes this.
  9. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,684
    Likes Received:
    3,419
    With everything connected (leave the props off if you are messing around at home) go to the app and click the next to Home in the top left.
    Click on the 3 dots icon down the bottom left.
    [​IMG]
    And down at the bottom of the page, click on About.
    That will bring up this screen which shows firmware versions.
    [​IMG]
     
    dnszero likes this.
  10. TulsaReiner

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    Thank you so much Mario.
    And I thank Meta4 for his answer to your question. It helps me too.
     
  11. Mario P.

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, NM
    You're welcome.
    And thanks Meta4 for posting screencaptures. I got my answer from earlier, video post, but this direct answer will be easier to reference for others.
     
  12. hoagie0101

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    What if the firmware shows N/A? . I've had the copter for a week and haven't had FPV or able to update the firmware on the copter. The controller updated without a problem. The copter won't initialize the update, the text file is empty, I've tried 3 different SD cards, formatted them more times than I can count. downloaded, unpacked and copied the zip file at least a dozen times. uninstalled and installed the DJI go app 4-5 times. Might be time to return it for a refund.
     
  13. TulsaReiner

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    I had to update every version of the firmware sequentially in order for my P3A to accept it.
    So look at the version you currently have, then look at the sequence of new versions on the DJI website, and be sure you aren't trying to skip a version.
     
  14. hoagie0101

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Thanks for the reply TulsaReiner.
    Part of the problem is I can't tell what version I have on the aircraft. DJI go shows N/A on my Galaxy s4 and Unknown on the IPhone 6S. I've tried every version of firmware on the website and none will imitate the update.