Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3P cannot do POI in medium wind

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by PilotHarry, Oct 3, 2015.

  1. PilotHarry

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    85
    I was trying to do POI from 100 feet high, and it couldn't achieve this because of the ~15 wind. Anyone else notice this?

    Set it up, pressed go, wouldn't move.

    I've done it before with no wind, so I don't think it's user error.
     
  2. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    Seems odd, I have noticed it's not very good at holding altitude while circling - and that's worse if it's windy.
     
  3. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    Would not move as in take off or your phantom wobbling? I use Autopilot features such as Orbit, Zip Line and Target. In Michigan it has been a steady 15 mph wind for a week now, with gusts reaching even higher speeds. My P3A handles it very well. Roughly the same height and in a open field with a single tree.
     
  4. PilotHarry

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    85

    It was wobbling, oddly. Wouldn't circle!

    I am too paranoid for autopilot as of now. DJI Go for me now :)
     
  5. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Off the subject a tad-- is the autopilot app worth the 50 bucks or so with all the features? Opinion??
     
  6. Shammyh

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    154
    Hmm... and no error in the app? Were you using Litchi or Go?

    Sounds like user error more than UAS error... but more details would be helpful.

    I flew A LOT of Ground Station/Waypoint on my P2V+ and am up to about 10 fully autonomous flights on my P3P.
    So would love to hear some more info on your issue.
     
  7. Jbundy63

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    164
    I have had no issues with POI at I know at least 15 MPH winds and circles fine and steady. Only had issues with the updated ISO 9.0 with once I went into POI the video feed cut out so badly it was unusable. I downgraded to 8.4 and has been fine since. What device and software are you running? Just a thought?
     
  8. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    Yes and no.. It's $19.99, follow me is free and the other 3 are $4.99 each. Add another $4.99 for waypoints when it's released I'm assuming. The issue I have with it is that it's not compatible with healthydrones. I am commutating with Autoflightlogic trying to get them to add the correct format for healthydrones. Also you can't check you Mod values, not that I have found anyway. With that said it is super stable, consistent, user friendly and runs very smooth with plenty of options. I have used both DJI GO and Autopilot. I prefer Autopilot over DJI GO.
     
  9. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Thanks for the reply-- may just wait awhile longer till everything is there-- really want a good waypoint feature where the way points and altitudes can be set on the map. I can do that on my QAV 500 on the laptop before I fly. Also can input way points further away.
     
  10. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    I don't blame you. I hate flying without being able to check my bird during and after. It's hard to resist some of the features though, such as touch, passive and Target just to name a few. I feel it allows me to customize my flight more using Autopilot. I think, if I remember correctly you can only go out roughly 950ft. Which is not far at all, but As of now it is plenty for me. Here's a few 'follow me' settings from the app.
    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1443930137.834556.jpg
     
  11. PilotHarry

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    85
    It could very much have been user error... But I don't think it was. The drone was trying to do SOMETHING, but couldn't in the wind?

    I'll see if I can recreate the issue, or run it through healthy drones to see if there were any errors
     
  12. PilotHarry

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    85
    8.4 IPad Air. It's been working great except losing video at 1600ish, which will hopefully get farther once I get the reflector.

    Dunno why it refused to do POI