Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3A VPS issues

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Bull94, Jan 10, 2016.

  1. Bull94

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    9
    So this is my second P3A 3 days after receiving the first one Amazon shipped out a replacement and this one is doing the same thing. When using the VPS without GPS it is not stable AT ALL. The last one worked for about three times after updating the firmware and then I recalibrate do the IMU in the street which I assumed caused it to stop working again. However this brand new one I received today is doing the same thing. I updated, calibrated the IMU multiple times, calibrated the compass, and calibrated the gimbal multiple times. When using the VSU outside it literally drifts to the right at a pretty fair speed. Hopefully someone can help me out.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,051
    Likes Received:
    5,609
    Location:
    US
    VPS should really only be used indoors.
     
  3. fordruid

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Without GPS I believe that it will tend to drift.
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,051
    Likes Received:
    5,609
    Location:
    US
    Well, it won't if the VPS is able to stabilize the Phantom. It does not work well in most outdoor situations though.
     
  5. fordruid

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    That was my thought since he said "in the street"
     
  6. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    3,465
    Are you aware of the limitations of the VPS?
    Max Velocity Less than 8 m/s (when 2 m above ground)
    Altitude Range 50 cm-300 cm
    Operating Range 50 cm-300 cm
    Operating Environment Surface with clear pattern and adequate lighting (Lux > 15)
    What conditions were you trying to use it in?
    It's of very limited use anyway outdoors and most users deactivate it.
     
  7. Bull94

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    9
    Well someone from DJI answered me on the dji forum when I posted about the first time and told me it won't work in my house because the rooms aren't big enough and told me to try it outside.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  8. Bull94

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    9
    Well it is dark where I am and it was at about 5 feet altitude and it was moving as if I had the right stick pressed to the right lightly. It worked with the last one after the update but isn't working with this one.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. marzipana

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    33
    Shouldn't the IMU calibration be done with a completely cold drone, and indoors on a completely level surface?? And the gimbal also calibrated right after that?
     
  10. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    3,465
    Only about 10% of users on the DJI forum can tie their shoelaces properly.
    It's not a place to get accurate information.
    In the street is not a suitable location to calibrate IMU - perhaps you meant the compass?
    IMU calibration should be done on a perfectly level surface..
     
    msinger likes this.
  11. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    3,465
    Well there's your problem.
    It doesn't work in the dark or on indistinct surfaces .. see my post above for details.
     
  12. Bull94

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yeah the IMU was calibrated in the street on my previous P3A which is what I assume caused the VPS to mess up again. But with the one I received today I did everything inside on level surfaces except for the compass calibration. The fact of it being dark outside was my guess but it worked on the last one those three times in the dark.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  13. corwest

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    4
    Vps will not work in the dark. Period. It uses a camera to help with positioning and if its dark, well... Also make sure you are calibrating your compass away from metal objects, power lines, WiFi signals, etc...

    Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk