Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3A/P - is our range crippled now??

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Guy bb, Jan 4, 2016.

  1. Guy bb

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    13
    With the release of P3-4K I noticed a change in the specs of the p3a/p on bhphoto. It now states up to 1.2m or 2km. Very very strange. Note specs have not changed on dji site however I couldn't find the specs for the 4k model there so maybe it hasn't updated yet.
    Is this the first sign were going to see a firmware range limit soon?
     
    Fieldstone likes this.
  2. fstoplabs

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    23
    Mako79 likes this.
  3. phantomized

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Toronto & Hong Kong
    I doubt it. And I certainly hope not, what would be the point to that?
     
  4. Guy bb

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    13
    True, still lightbridge but for some reason the range is stated as lower now (on bhphoto St least). I agree it doesn't make a lot of sense with the p34k range stated also at 3900' .
     
  5. RadRich

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    80
  6. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,695
    Likes Received:
    3,425
    No your range it isn't crippled now.
    Until about 2 months ago DJI showed much more modest operating range specs but they finally got around to updating those to the kind of numbers that the P3 can achieve.
    BHPhoto are still using the same text that they've had since the P3 was released.
    They have thousands of inventory items and can't be expected to update specs whenever manufacturers do.
     
    snowghost likes this.
  7. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,409
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Wow.
    Didn't realise DJI added another line.
    So it ranks from highest to lowest..

    Pro (FPV up to 10mbs @ HD 720p/5km range/Sony/VPS)
    Adv (FPV up to 2mbs @ HD 720p/5km range/Sony/VPS)
    4K (FPV up to 2mbs @ SD 480p/1.2km range/Sony/VPS)
    STD (FPV up to 2mbs @ HD 720/1km range/Panasonic/ NO VPS)

    Funny thing is that the 4K weighs (1280g) the same as the Pro/Adv and yet the 4K has longer flight times of an additional 2 minutes. I wonder if the 4k has newer propulsion??
     
    ParsnipHysorter and jcknows0 like this.
  8. fstoplabs

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    23
    Probably no lightbridge, wifi only, SD480 means a lot less processing power, difference ASIC perhaps.
     
  9. Phantomfreak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    70
    Maybe DJI's attempt to gradually phase Lightbrige out of the Phantom line and exclusive to the Inspire? Then replace it with this improved WiFi instead.. After all the P3P does almost everything the Inspire does at 1/3 the price.. Maybe DJI wants to differentiate between the two more. Or maybe just switch to lower power consuming Wifi to get a 25 flight time. But personally I would rather have double the range than an extra 2 minutes flight time.
     
  10. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,695
    Likes Received:
    3,425
    That's beyond unlikely.
    It's just a new model in the lineup to snag even more buyers.
     
  11. kphantom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    80
    It doesn't have the Lightbridge. The radio takes power to get longer distance links that work.
     
  12. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,409
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    I think DJI have made a mistake with the flight times. It should read 23min for the 4K and NOT 25 as stated.
    As a guestimate, the only reason why the P3 Standard is lighter is that it does not have the VPS module installed and hence the extra 2 minutes. All other 3 have VPS and therefore the weight should be the same.
     
  13. aka1ceman

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    175
    Really? well maybe range were not sure yet, but altitude is for sure. compared to the Pro, 120m from launch instead of 500m?
     
    #13 aka1ceman, Jan 4, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2016
  14. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,695
    Likes Received:
    3,425
    Yes really. Just the same as the Pro and Advanced.
    You need to check your facts occasionally
     
  15. aka1ceman

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    175
    Facts are 4k is less altitude at 120m while Pro is 500m. Fact is that this cripples the altitude which is distance. Since when is more than 50% reduction not crippling? ?
     
  16. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,695
    Likes Received:
    3,425
    No, that's just not true.
    The Standard and the new 4K wifi Phantoms have the same altitude range as the Advanced and Pro
    ie. They can fly 500 metres above home point
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  17. aka1ceman

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    175
    No it doesnt have lightbridge, but they didnt put this into print before. Now They actually put it into print so guys like you later can say, "See, DJI never said more than 400ft altitude"
    Screenshot 2016-01-05 08.30.54.png
     
  18. fvader

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    57
    if you look at the spec sheet on the 4k wifi it says it's limited to 120m
    where as the adv/pro is not.
     
    aka1ceman likes this.
  19. aka1ceman

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    175
    Denial is a sad disease.:(
     
  20. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,695
    Likes Received:
    3,425
    Thankyou for pointing out the spec sheet wording to me.
    If you'd read what I wrote you would realise that I am fully aware of the wording there.
    If you compared the actual performance that real Standard achieves instead of repeating the badly worded specs over and over you might get closer to making sense.
    What's really sad is someone who either through ignorance or malice continually distorts facts even when they are pointed out clearly.
    As is so often the case AKA, you have no idea what you are on about.
    Check your facts instead of making them up to suit your twisted views from the fact-free zone you inhabit.
    The Standard and the new 4K wifi Phantoms have the same altitude range as the Advanced and Pro
    ie. They can fly up to 500 metres above home point
     
    kirk2579, liketogethigh and Mako79 like this.