Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3A out of balance

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by brianb87, Sep 7, 2015.

  1. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    When I start it up it says everything is good. When I hover 5'-10' in the air it moves on its own, not much but it does. Before I take off its saying distance 1.2' traveled. I have calibrated the RC. Anything else I can try? My new props? Tighten them, loosen them?

    This was happening before the update as well. I have a video on my phone but can't upload it here.
     
  2. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    Its not a 'balance' issue. And not prop related either. Its most likely what you are hovering over. VPS is not by any means perfect at holding hover! Especially over most surfaces
     
  3. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148

    P3a

    Here is the video... There is a lot of metal around and I'm taking off from concrete. It said everything was good/normal.
     
  4. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    Would hooking it up to healthy drones give me an idea of the issue, which sounds like interference ?
     
  5. FunN4lo

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    57
    No video?!?
     
  6. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    Yes, click on the blue P3A
     
  7. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    Or from the drone itself ?
     
  8. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    So you know there is tons of magnetic interference, but don't see that as an obvious issue? Asphalt is not a good surface to VPS to see either
     
  9. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148

    Ok so i should probably take it back on my farm and check?
     
  10. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148

    I have flown there before without a problem.
     
  11. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
  12. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    Switched the props, problem solved....
     
  13. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,731
    Likes Received:
    3,450
    I'm not sure I can see a problem in the video.
    Don't expect your Phantom to maintain position perfectly
    From the specs ..
    Hover Accuracy
    • Vertical: +/- 0.1 m (when Vision Positioning is active) or +/- 0.5 m
    • Horizontal: +/- 1.5 m
    And it's too close to the ground (possibly) with the VPS trying unsuccessfully to find a pattern in the asphalt.
    VPS requires surface with clear pattern and adequate lighting - it won't work on asphalt.

    There's probably turbulent air from your propwash that close to the ground too.
    Get your Phantom up 20+ feet in the air and see how it goes.

    ps .. Don't over-tighten your props.
    It's easy to strip the threads in the composite propeller hub.
    They only need to be spun on and gently finger tightened.