P3A: Minor crash. Now one motor won't start.

Reaction score
Minor crash, no visible damage, props not broken.

Now when I take off, one of these happes.
Either a) One motor won't start and I see an error "motor obstruction", or b) One motor won't start but the drone will try take off and immediately tip over and crash again. If it does not crash, it shuts down and will not attempt a spin up again unless I power cycle the drone.

All motors spin freely and I don't see any debris or physical indicator that the bad motor is damaged.

I took the lid off - I don't see anything obvious, but I don't know what to be looking for other than something broken or dislodged.

Please help on how I could fix this myself if possible. I'm an electrical engineer, so I'm comfortable doing surgery.

Are you able to start spinning all the motors without props mounted?

Yes - I just did that an hour ago actually. Learning here. If I do a CSC takeoff, they will keep running and the controller behaves as if it's flying.

However, the dead motor does nothing.

Are there ways to electronically test the motor, perhaps with a multi-meter or look for signalling to the motor with an oscilloscope? I dug out my scope but I couldn't find my probes - I will get some tomorrow.

A scope wont tell you much; even a good working esc that is connected to a bad motor, chances are you wont see much, as the esc needs counter-electromotive force of a good motor.

Since you appear to be no stranger to electronics, just swap 2 motors and see if the problem stays with the motor or the esc.

That makes sense on the inductive/reactance side, but should I at least see a spike in input voltage on startup? I'm not an expert in motor controllers.

Swapping motors does seem like a logical troubleshooting step, just hesitated prior to desoldering because the motor physically looks pristine and mechanically feels normal - do these motors fail like this with minor physical shock?

Thanks for the help