Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3A low RC signal

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by oscarcs2007, Nov 5, 2015.

  1. oscarcs2007

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, is that normal the RC signal lower than the video feed back signal? I lost my RC signal in around 800m from me.
     
  2. Mr.Spock

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    UK
    This is not normal. Pls check for interference on the chanel you are on and preferably do the 32ch hack. Also make sure your antennas are vertical and in parallel with the bird's landing gears.
    Your RC chareged at 50% min.
     
  3. JKDSensei

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    USA
    Oscar,
    I had been having a lot of trouble with communications between my P3A and my controller. Updating to the latest GO APP seems to have solved the problem (for me). Are you on 2.4.2 ?
     
  4. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    640
    Don't do the 32 channel hack - you aren't there yet. It MAY be normal depending on what is between you and the Phantom. Trees / buildings / giant monsters / power lines will all degrade the signal. 800 meters is pretty good for my if I am trying to talk to the bird through 200 foot Sitka Spruce trees. Open line of sight, not so much.

    Show us the map of where you have been, upload your logs to healthy drones.
     
  5. Doolang

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was getting this message at a little over 500 meters yesterday. I'm a little concerned. I was flying over a forest, but still LOS. ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1449445730.782082.jpg
     
  6. Doolang

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    Anyone? Why do i only have 500m rc range?
     
  7. Wacker2611

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    164
    There could be dozens of reasons. Very rarely, I've had relatively poor range in an area which looked perfect. Just the other day I was flying in a valley which looked perfect and I was starting to get poor rc/video at about 400 metres. I just packed up and moved 100 metres down the road and all was well again. That is really rare though. I use a windsurfer which are really sensitive to you pointing the rc at the Phantom though, so it could be user error.