Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3a ce range

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by DjiGoten, Jun 7, 2016.

  1. DjiGoten

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi eveyone,
    I live in the uk and I am thinking of getting a P3a but I read that the ce has a reduced range. Can someone please verify realistic ranges in ce mode for the P3a?
    Thanks
     
  2. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Please explain to me What exactly is ce mode?
    Not familiar with that particular terminology.

    RedHotPoker
     
  3. DjiGoten

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    I live in the Uk so all drones come in ce mode rather than the fcc mode that is available in America for which the phantom range is advertised for. Ce means less output channels this less range ( I believe). I just want to know what people with the P3A get in ce mode in range.
     
  4. Numone

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    241
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    The CE version is the vision for use in Europe and has less horizontal range than the units sold in the US.
     
  5. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Ah, I get it now. Thanks. Canadian here, so I generally don't ever follow the legality issues of other nations, too much.

    Plus, I have membership to a local RC heli field www.ercha.ca, which is nestled out in the near country side. Easy access but away from the regular city folk.

    I am happy to say, we have no limited travel restrictions on our RC hobby grade drones, like you pilots have, over there across the pond. Which is great, if you want to fly your model, out of sight. ;-) Not that I would ever do that... Hahaha

    RedHotPoker
     
    flpholt likes this.
  6. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    1,490
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    You'll need to hear from someone under CE jurisdiction for an idea of the range they realistically see.
    Here is what DJI says per spec:

    Up to 5 km or 3.1 miles (unobstructed, free of interference) when FCC compliant
    Up to 3.5 km or 2.1 miles (unobstructed, free of interference) when CE compliant

    As a reference point, I am in an FCC area and I can tell you that when I go out to an open field I can easily get around 4km with my stock P3A. I have read here that others get further. The folks with antenna mods go much further. Folks who fly in congested areas get much less distance.
     
  7. ferraript

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Slovakia/Kosice
    Range is much more dependent on the place where you want to fly and on your position in that place.
    In good conditions you can go very far and the bigger problem is battery life :)
    My maximum is 5.5 km.
     
    curiosity likes this.
  8. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    @DjiGoten, Perhaps an antenna mod on your ce drone, would help give you more distance, but be breaking the local law in doing so...

    RedHotPoker
     
  9. DjiGoten

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    I would be flying in ce mode from my garden that is around a few houses.
     
  10. sandman259

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    137
    What if you own a fcc version and you travel to the uk and bring it with you will it work there?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. DjiGoten

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    That could be a possibility.
     
    RedHotPoker likes this.
  12. DjiGoten

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    I don't think so, it is Gps enabled I think
     
  13. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    No, the Mercury switch likely gets tripped, whilst at the intervening border crossing.. Hahaha

    RedHotPoker
     
  14. ferraript

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Slovakia/Kosice
    if there are no powerful TV/radio/electric towers and no wifi interference, then you should easily make more than 3 km anytime (of course there has to be enough free air-space for the signal to go from RC to the bird and vice-versa, that means no obstacles like trees, buildings, etc...)
     
  15. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    it will switch into ce mode instead fcc mode many people have already ask about buying one in us and shipping over the pond it doesn't matter it will switch to ce mode
     
  16. DjiGoten

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes there are just general houses not wifi towers. If I can hit 3km I would be quite happy.
     
  17. DjiGoten

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    3
    I was think about the bebop 2 with skycontroller as it is about £100 cheaper but that has less range plus the camera is not as good as the P3A
     
  18. SnoozeDoggyDog

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    97
    Hi. I'm in the UK. I recently bottled out at 2 miles and brought it back with no signal issues experienced. Stock out of the box.
     
    Reed L likes this.
  19. SnoozeDoggyDog

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    97
    I can confirm. I have a USA model and am in the UK.
     
  20. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    doesn't matter if its usa model if your flying in uk it automatically goes into ce mode
     
    JamesG2571 likes this.