Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3A Camera Disconnected at 2000' Away

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Bonehead83, Feb 14, 2016.

  1. Bonehead83

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Texas
    Flying my P3A this evening with my ipad mini 2 WiFi only. First flight went fine went fine with no issues. Second flight the bird was approx 2000' away, I look down to the DJI Go app and the top of the screen reads "Disconnected" and there was no video feed. I still had complete control of the bird and flight data was still showing up. This has happened a couple of times before, but of course can never be recreated on command to take it into the shop.... Any ideas on what could be causing this?
    I brought it in, powered down, and swapped the ipad for my iPhone and everything worked as it should
     
  2. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,078
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Better change your USB to iPad cable.
     
    Noble 1 likes this.
  3. Bonehead83

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Texas
    Could something as simple as the cable cause this?
     
  4. Noble 1

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Oregon
    What kind of Apple Ian cable are you using? Is it stock or aftermarket?

    Also what version of DJI GO are you using and what iOS are you on? Does your iPad have much free storage space? I read the DJI GO app needs a pretty big cache to run in both RAM and virtual RAM.

    My iPhone 5c storage is full basically and I can't fly my phantom 3 pro with it - the video skips around and it has spotty connection.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,078
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    That's what I could get it from your description of the situation.
     
  6. Bonehead83

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Texas
     
  7. kirk2579

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    261
    Location:
    Girard. ohio

    sometimes it is THE simple thing!

    usb cables are varied and flaky at best.
    video is carried via this cable so it is a easy swap to check
     
  8. Denver_Flight

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    8
    Cheap iPad cables are okay for charging, but not usually great at transmitting data. Woot.com usually has good deals on OEM lightning cables, usually like 3 for $20 or so.
     
  9. Bonehead83

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Texas
    I just pulled the cable out and checked it out, and it is actually an Apple cable.

    I was using an iPad mini 16g, on ios version 9.2.1

    And I'm assuming my DJI Go app is running is t the most recent
     
  10. Noble 1

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ok, sounds good... and how about your iPhone?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. Bonehead83

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Texas
    It's also on the same iOs version. It's an iPhone 5S with 4.5 gb of available data
     
  12. Sagebrush

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    155
    The iPhone 5s isn't on DJI's list.

    Were you behind a hill or vegetation?

    S
     
  13. Bonehead83

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Texas
    No I had an unobstructed line of sight to the bird. My iPhone was not the issue... the iPad mini was.
     
    Sagebrush likes this.
  14. shockwave199

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    405
    Try disabling video cache. It frees up a ton of processing and that low res video isn't good for much of anything. Try setting to custom channel 20 and even though the P3A can only stream the lowest bit rate, set the slider to the lowest. It's also a great and inexpensive purchase to buy windsurfers for the antennas. If all else isn't helping you can try deleting the app, rebooting the iPad and reinstalling the app. Good luck.
     
    Noble 1 and Bonehead83 like this.
  15. Bonehead83

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks for the tips! I'm new to the Phantom world, what are windsurfers?
     
    Noble 1 likes this.
  16. shockwave199

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    405
    Oh also, I keep my air2 with hardware decode set to on. Try that if you haven't.
     
  17. shockwave199

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    405
    These.

    Dynamic 3D Solutions
     
    Bonehead83 likes this.
  18. Noble 1

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Oregon
    Happy to help


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app