Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3A and Lightbridge

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by pounder35, Dec 28, 2015.

  1. pounder35

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Heart of Dixie and Ft. Walton Beach, FL.
    I've been searching the archives and find a lot of previous Q&A but can't seem to find the right answer. I've had my P3A for about a month after losing my P2V. Is it necessary to buy additional equipment to take advantage of Lightbridge? I'm drone broke right now and can't afford much more outlay. I hear of video feedback from as much as three miles out but my video on my LG 8.3 tablet gets really bad at about 1/2 mile. Thanks in advance for any feedback.
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,860
    Likes Received:
    5,556
    Location:
    US
    No. It all comes installed.

    Check that you're aiming your antennas properly. It's easy to lose the signal when the flat side is not pointing at your Phantom. Keep in mind that you'll need to constantly adjust as you're flying.

     
  3. pounder35

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Heart of Dixie and Ft. Walton Beach, FL.

    Very informative. I was flying over a residential area yesterday at about 200 ft. Most homes probably had wifi. I also might have had the wifi turned on on my phone and the tablet. Just to be sure, I will need wifi ON with the tablet I'm using as monitor for FPV? I'll be sure to check that and the antennae positioning next time out. Unfortunately we'll probably have rain all day today. :( In a rural area (farmland) what's a reasonable distance to expect a good video signal to my tablet from the P3A?
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,860
    Likes Received:
    5,556
    Location:
    US
    The P3A does not use Wi-Fi. Try flying with airplane mode turned on.
     
  5. pounder35

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Heart of Dixie and Ft. Walton Beach, FL.
    I'll try that. If the P3A doesn't use wifi why is wifi from other devices a problem? Just curious.
     
  6. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,509
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Lightbridge operates on the 2.4ghz frequency which is the same as wifi. So wifi can cause interference with the signal. This is different than using wifi.
     
  7. pounder35

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Heart of Dixie and Ft. Walton Beach, FL.

    Well that certainly explains it. o_O:):). I'll just follow your advice and not worry about the technical details. Kind of like an instructor when I was studying electronics and asked why a transistor turns on and off when applying a signal to the base. He said not to worry about"why" just know that it does. That's good enough for me. :)