Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3A 10th flight lost all confidence

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by MISTERDARKBOY, Jul 10, 2015.

  1. MISTERDARKBOY

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    took my beloved p3a up today.

    10th flight
    Fully charged
    Calibrated
    Imu reset after upgrade
    Flew in open field where I have been practicing before.
    Closed all apps on iPhone 5s

    Took off and went to 100 meters. The iPhone screen went black and got 'no signal' at the top of the screen

    My heart sunk thinking I would have a fly away. Then I realised I still have full control but with no video on screen. I promptly landed and although I landed safely I won't fly again until these bugs have been ironed out. Please dji get on with it!
     
  2. envisionabove

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Tim in San Diego
    It's really not a bug....many many things could be the one time issue. You will be waiting a long time for a perfect environment.

    The tablet is an enhancement to the drone, as you found out you had full control still, wonder how they flew when the enhancement was not available...fly los
     
  3. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    I bet you took off and went straight up from your takeoff point 100m (333') and you lost signal on the video because the antennas were pointing vertical, sending the signal out in front of you in a 45º arch, Not straight up to where the bird was. (video needs more bandwidth) This is not a fault of the P3, but more likely the operator, if you are going to fly overhead at altitude you need to change the antenna orientation to accommodate that.
     
    RobBarron, rmfa and Oso like this.
  4. MISTERDARKBOY

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    I think you hit the nail on the head!!! I had the antenna at a slight 'v' shape!
    ****! I have no idea why I did that. I think it's mixed up YouTube tutorials. Cheers 46rider
     
  5. silverstoned83

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    64
    Environmental conditions play a big part in RC signal range and penetration, even humidity plays a part. Was it foggy out at all? Smokey perhaps from nearby forest fires? I was not aware of how much smoke can effect the video signal until recently.
     
  6. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    No problem, easy to do. The signal comes off the flat side of the antenna at about 45º vertical, like so < if you bird is overhead it will only get scatter, the controller is not the problem as it has a low bandwidth requirement, its the video that needs a solid signal.
     
  7. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,910
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Someone needs to explain the RF doughnut. Oh, heck, I will.

    [​IMG]

    See this doughnut? It's the signal between your controller and your P3. You and your controller are right smack in the middle of it. Z is where your antennas are pointing. If you exit the doughnut, no sweets for you! So if your antennas are straight up, don't fly straight up.
     
    dnszero, Tricky and silverstoned83 like this.
  8. silverstoned83

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    64
    This would explain why I had such poor reception when the smoke was rolling through Seattle. I thought the RF signal was more like the shape of an apple based on how it behaved on crystal clear days.
     
  9. mikesher

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Seattle
    Did you get some good video/pics of the amazing sunsets? I'm here in Seattle also, but haven't flown since last weekend.
     
  10. silverstoned83

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    64
    Nothing special, I didn't have much free time. I was only at the field to try and finish breaking in my two batteries.

    This was taken in West Seattle. You can barely see the city to the right.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    I think it's a bug. I've lost signal flying and had full control. 3 times with different firmware for 2 of them.
     
  12. silverstoned83

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    64
    This is not a bug... Just as F6Rider has explained, this is simply due to the video signal having more bandwidth requirements to maintain a smooth video feed... The control signal requires much less bandwidth, so it is able to maintain control with much more ease.
     
    #12 silverstoned83, Jul 10, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2015
  13. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    How can I fly with out video? It needs to be fixed whether a bug or not.
     
  14. silverstoned83

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    64
    The map works pretty well. I can confidently fly my P3 back to within visible range simply by using the map feature, along with the other sensor measurements that are included in the telemetry.
     
  15. BenDronePilot

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    131
    These two videos might be of some help.



     
  16. MISTERDARKBOY

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    I didn't have smoke, quite a dry day in the UK, 27 degrees Celsius. I did shoot straight up within 5 meters of myself. That graph/diagram makes perfect sense as the trajectory of the signal matches this. I would imagine the 'v' shape would have contributed too. Just need that sensor fix now!
     
  17. jpd6541

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had this happen to me tonight. No signal, it said 0 satellites, and the screen was blank. I could still see the map but my P3a wasn't moving in map. Thankfully I kept it in line of sight and was able to bring it home. Once I landed I shut everything down and restarted. It initially showed where i originally lost signal but then if reset my home point and took off with no issues. Is it some kind of glitch?

    I have Around 50 flights and this is my first issue. I haven't updated to latest firmware yet. I still have the previous one. Could that have been the cause?
     
  18. jryser

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    Indiana
    SO - if you DO fly straight up, get horizontal so you can point the fat part of the doughnut toward ur bird!!


    Sent from my PT beating heart
     
  19. jpd6541

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't fly strait up. I was around 275 ft and 800 feet away.
     
  20. jpd6541

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I flew no different tonight than I have the previous 40 something flights