Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3 - Return to Controller?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by theWizardAKQ, Jul 31, 2015.

  1. theWizardAKQ

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone! I'm new to the forum, but not to Phantoms! I have a questions and after days of searching the net I can't find a yes or no answer on. The questions is: Does the P3 have a feature to return to controller feature (if not it should!)? The reason I ask is we are taking our new P3's to the lake for a week vacation and we'll be on boats filming our vacation. I know about the return to home feature, but in my case 'home' will be moving up and down the lake. I didn't know if there is a 3rd party firmware or some other hack that would allow this. Thanks for any help!
     
  2. tvckz

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    TVC
    Use iOS only with cell and you are set.
     
  3. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,751
    Likes Received:
    1,093
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    You want Dynamic Home Point, which was added to the pilot app in the last update. Just make sure you try it out before you take it to the lake!
     
  4. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,765
    Likes Received:
    3,471
    This is what you are looking for.
    It's on Android as well but you have to have GPS enabled in your tablet for it to work.
    [​IMG]
    But be careful.
    Current advice is that it will return to the location at the time you set it and not continue updating as you fly.
     
    JBG likes this.
  5. theWizardAKQ

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    awesome info!!! Thanks everyone!!!