Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3 Pro - Beep from Hell !!!

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Anthony Radford, May 3, 2016.

  1. Anthony Radford

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    17
    Hello all, last night I did some repairs on my gimbal, and afterwards I attempted to update my FW. All the signs pointed towards proper update: flashing green/red lights on gimbal, soft beeping, arm lights going off after a while, etc. However, about an hour after I started, it was still updating!?! So, like an idiot, I interrupted the update.

    The next time I powered on, I got the steady, LOUD beeping! D- D- D- D- ... I have tried reformatting my mSD cards and reloading FW all day long, even letting the update process run for over 2 hours! I have read that after about 15 mins, the Beep from Hell should stop, but mine hasn't.

    Funny thing is, my transmitter and DJI GO app will connect to the camera... Gimbal and camera functions work, just not the aircraft.

    What else can I do???


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    did you load newest dji go app
     
  3. Anthony Radford

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    17
    Yes, latest most current DJI go app as well...



    And for a little bit of my background: I have been a computer tech for over 15 years- with degrees and certifications... Well experienced at repairing and refurbishing laptops and pc's... And now, I am also a mobile phone tech, so working with firmware, etc and even activities such as fixing gimbals, replacing ribbon cables, etc is all "second nature" to me...

    I just let my aircraft run the update again for another hour and a half- with the loud beeping going the whole time - "D D D D"...


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,124
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Good that you have great IT experience.

    Please check the versions you have on the system: Go App, RC and AC

    They should be:
    App: 2.8.0
    RC: 1.6.0
    AC: 1.8.80

    Next step would be to upgrade them to these levels if they need so.

    AC FW updates three items: AC FW, Camera FW and Batt FW. If Camera update is not done or stuck due to a reason, it will not time out :) check for gimbal gray cables.
     
  5. Anthony Radford

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    17
    Alok, As I mentioned above- my app is current, as is my RC. I am trying to update the AC to 1.8.8, but that's where I am having my troubles.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,124
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I just wanted to check what versions you have.

    Check gimbal gray cables for connectivity first. Set them right. Then better downgrade to 1.7 and then upgrade back to 1.8 During this process keep RC off.
     
    Raja777m likes this.
  7. Anthony Radford

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    17
    All cables are connected. My AC was originally on 1.5.-something. As for camera and gimbal operation, it works fine. I had my RC and app connected, and had full operation...


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  8. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,124
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Are you saying you have AC version 1.8.80 right now? If true, why don't you downgrade to 1.7 and then upgrade to 1.8.80 again? Will you list your current FW and App versions?
     
  9. Anthony Radford

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    17
    Again- as I have already stated at least THREE times, if you bothered to read and comprehend what I've been saying:
    App and RC are at latest versions: app- 2.8.0
    RC- 1.6.0
    AC- I have no clue. Saying Unknown. That's what I am trying to do- update to 1.8.80 from whatever it was on. But it is beeping loud and keeps updating... Does not stop. I let it run and wear down a full battery today, and gimbal light was still blinking green/red... It's not completing, succeeding, or even failing. Gimbal operates correctly, no bad connections


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  10. SteveAikens

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Clovis, NM
    No need to be rude. People are trying to help you.

    My suggestion is to format the SD card on a computer, download the update directly from DJI download site and try starting over clean. It has been known that some downloads have not been clean downloads for a variety of reasons. Starting completely fresh is always the best option.
     
    Roverggm and meissner58 like this.
  11. Bigs

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
    To add to Steve's advice, make sure you format in fat32... Make sure the BIN is at the root of the SD card...
     
  12. MikeyOnline

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    116
    I can feel the frustration: degreed computer scientists like us feel like this should be cake. Fact is, you can never know everything and people like us can still fall into potholes like FW update issues like all the rest. Alok was just trying to establish IF you could get a reading from the bird on whether it reported what firmware is currently in place. Now that we know it says "unknown", my fear is that you've gotten into a situation of a FW partial load and you may have to send it to DJI to "hard load" the FW. :( But I would say take the above advice first. Format the card, make sure only the BIN file is in the root, and give it one last try. The only way to know the FW update is done is by the dash-dot-dot, dash-dot-dot sound at the end. FWIW, my 1.8.80 update took 20 minutes. Sounds like your FW update "went bad" though since you let it go well beyond that.

    Best of luck,
    Mike
     
  13. MikeyOnline

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    116
    And from what I can remember, the normal "morse code" is:

    Starting FW update: dash-dot-dot (maybe a few times)
    Loading FW update: dot-dot-dot-dot (for a long time, for me, 20 minutes)
    FW update done: dash-dot-dot (forever until you turn it off)

    Mike
     
  14. sonof40

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    San Ramon, CA
    I'm sure what Anthony meant to say was Thanks Alok.
     
  15. Anthony Radford

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    17
    Im not meaning to be rude, but I feel I'm being asked for information that I've already given... I have been all over the web looking for fixes. I already have been reformatting the mSD card, (multiple cards at that- and yes- formatting to fat32) and following ALL the steps posted anywhere else. I've redownloaded bin files, tried v1.7 and v1.8.80, - everything. I am no idiot with tech and already said that, and I feel ppl are giving me steps that are uber-noob stuff. I've already tried everything that google and YouTube has shown me... That's why I'm here..


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  16. Bigs

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
    Anthony,

    No one is calling you an idiot. You can have all the papers in the world, that doesn't make you the smartest tech. I've been in IT for over 20 years, some people have certifications, diploma's, papers galore and they aren't the best techs on my team. Sometimes US techs forget the most simplest things... Just saying.
     
  17. SteveAikens

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Clovis, NM
    Ok, got that. I'm also a tech and recently closed my business after 30 years. I've made some mistakes just like everyone else has with my Phantom. You can make them as well.

    I know this is probably going to meet with the same answer but the firmware update comes in a zipped file. Only extract the bin file to the SD card before trying it.

    If none of that helps - you need to contact DJI.

    Good luck.
     
    Bigs likes this.
  18. MikeyOnline

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    116
    Agree. 35 years here. Degreed, PC software developer, Unix, Android ROM developer, decent EE experience as well, own my own software development company, blah, blah. Doesn't mean I know everything or that I can't make simple mistakes on a new (to me) platform. We didn't know until post #9 that the bird was throwing "unknown" for the FW version: only that you had tried and failed up update to 1.8.80. Given that, I fear that you're screwed because the code that actually updates the FW is toast, so it can't load another one. Maybe through no fault of your own, the FW update failed mid-stream and from a few other posts where that happens, it has to be sent to DJI. The reason I was pointing out the sounds/beeps is that in your OP, it sounded like you went more by the lights than the sound. I never power my P3P down until I get the finishing (and repeating) dash, dot, dot at the end. I'll leave mine on until the battery dies if I don't hear it. In your case, it sounds to me like something went wrong and it likely would have never recovered no matter how long you left it on. I also update the FW on the craft with everything else (RC and such) off. Guess you did that. For whatever reason, somehow that FW update must have gotten interrupted. Could have been something as simple as a card/file read error.

    Mike
     
    Bigs likes this.
  19. Anthony Radford

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    17
    Yes, I know to extract the bin from the zip and place it in the root of an empty/formatted card...


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  20. Anthony Radford

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    17
    I'm wondering this: it originally had v1.5.xx or v1.6.xx FW, and I was trying to upgrade straight to v1.8.80. Is that correct, or would I have to increment up? Meaning, install v1.7 and then v1.8?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app