P3 Pro 4K question video

Reaction score
Hi peeps. Firsts post as a newbie,
1 month into a p3P and I love it but wondering on the best res to shoot to playback on non 4k devises. When I shoot in 4k I can view no probe on my iMac (albeit a bit of lag with sharp turns). What would you suggest to to shoot in to view on a non 4K tv. I do have a Matricom which has a 4K viewer app. Best to shoot in a lower frame 4K or move down to HD?

regards

Scott

If thought is put into this post than it does not make sense. If someone is not going to view in 4k, what resolution should be used? I'm going to vote for anything less than 4k. Just my opinion though.

Thank you for the reply (even though sarcastic). As a newbie I would have appreciated a far less less undermining reply to a question that you may well (apparently) have the vast knowledge to.
Also, just so you are aware your reply should have read 'then it does not make sense' ..... just saying

Shoot in whatever quality the intended audience is able to view the footage in. Seems like in this case that would be 1080p.

Most apps will scale 4K to 1080 and produce a better result than just shooting in 1080.
Arguable... is 4K scaling down to 1080@30fps better than 1080@60fps? Aerial footage needs the extra fps, esp when panning with a rolling shutter camera.

always shoot in 4k ...you can always convert it to 1080p if you need to
Why? Converting 4K takes time and uses too much memory in the card, a waste of space and time. Not to mention, the editing software for 4k often costs more and a computer that can adequately handle 4K editing generally costs much more. Shoot 1080 and try it out.

Last edited:
Reactions: nickyb
It's like arguing brake pads on a track car... Everyone will have an opinion. You can always downscale.... Never the other way around. If I'm filming crap though.... It looks the same 320 or 5k.