Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3 motors will not arm

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by rohrlaw, Jul 14, 2015.

  1. rohrlaw

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok - right out of the box i updated the firmware on my new P3 and remote control. After turning on the controller and aircraft, nothing happens when i attempt to arm the motors other than a slight jiggle of the camera gimbal. Front lights are steady red, rear lights flash amber. What the heck am I doing wrong???
     
  2. rmarler

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Douglas Wyoming
    Did you get a txt file message on the sd card after the firmware update on the P3 stating "Success" after the update ? and also from the controller showing "success" ? it will be on the sd card with the bin file.
     
  3. spankybear

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Washington
    Calibrate your IMU on a flat and level surface. If you do the cold method it will "warm up" faster on when you power up going forward. Search is your friend on the cold method.
     
  4. YolevonALLin

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    79
    Whoa, I would have never ever updated the firmware out of the box given all of the horrendous risk of doing it discussed on here. Why did you? I updated my first one, after about a week of flawless flight and boom, it was bricked, ruined, trash. Numerous other stories discussed on here and general consensus EVERYWHERE was to stay with 1.1.9. So why did you update?

    Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
     
  5. YolevonALLin

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    79
    ... And mine did something very similar to what your describing.. Pretty good chance it's ruined and I hope you used amazon or you'll be waiting a long time

    Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
     
  6. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
    Take it easy, the guy is new. With most products running any type of computer the first thing people do is update software / firmware its only natural. Buy a new Windows or Apple computer and after turning it on the first thing its looking for is updates
     
    rmarler and SnoozeDoggyDog like this.
  7. BenDronePilot

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    131
    My new Phantom 3 Pro I received yesterday also came with firmware 1.1.9. You know the newer firmware is an issue when DJI is still shipping brand new units with the older firmware which is where I will be keeping it.
     
    Fplvert likes this.
  8. Fplvert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Southern Idaho USA
    Welcome to the forum,

    You'll get lots of help here.
    http://www.dji.com/product/phantom-3/download

    Did you set up your account yet? This is part of binding to your device.
     
  9. BigKenny

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Are you getting IMU errors or calibration out of range warnings? I was right away and calibrating IMU through the app fixed this for me.

    Also, I don't blame someone for updating out of the box. I did, as my thinking is there are FW fixes that address potential known issues that could come up. Now, that said, this should also be a lesson to check the firmware threads here before updating to see if any issues are widespread (which I also did).

    Hopefully IMU gets you off the ground!
     
  10. rohrlaw

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    have "success" msg from aircraft and "success" followed by "file you attempted to install is older than one currently installed" on controller.... aircraft is now showing steady red on the front lights and flashing green on the rear lights when i attempt to arm the motors.. still getting slight camera movement when i attempt to arm motors
     
  11. rohrlaw

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    have "success" msg from aircraft and "success" followed by "file you attempted to install is older than one currently installed" on controller.... aircraft is now showing steady red on the front lights and flashing green on the rear lights when i attempt to arm the motors.. still getting slight camera movement when i attempt to arm motors
     
  12. Morphious

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    83
    Leave the props OFF and play with it for awhile in the house.
     
  13. Chuck Young

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    192
    So what firmware is in the unit?
     
  14. rohrlaw

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    1.06
     
  15. Morphious

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    83
    no, if you have:
    P3P: 1.1.9 or 1.2.6
    P3A: 1.2.7 or 1.2.8
    APP: 1.20
     
  16. rohrlaw

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    1.02.0006
     
  17. rohrlaw

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    its a Pro model aircraft
     
  18. Morphious

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    83
    while connected to Phantom, in the APP, look for the "about" tab and click to see firmware version
     
  19. rohrlaw

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    i will give that a try... the only change i have noticed after calibrating is the rear lights now flash green instead of amber.. front lights still are steady red
     
  20. rohrlaw

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0