P3 camera pan range

Reaction score
Just received my P3A and spent the evening unpacking it. It is used but appears to be in good shape. Not going to fly it for awhile but did fire up everything without props, just to make sure it all worked. So far so good.
Still waiting on the manual. So here's what's concerning me. I can see the camera on the mini iPad 2 with no problem. Tilt works great. Pan seems to
be very limited. When I did a camera centering it looked like it panned its full
range, about 180 degrees. I'm thinking some sort of pan limit is set and on.
What am I missing or do I have a gimbal controll issue?

Bill

Just received my P3A and spent the evening unpacking it. It is used but appears to be in good shape. Not going to fly it for awhile but did fire up everything without props, just to make sure it all worked. So far so good.
Still waiting on the manual. So here's what's concerning me. I can see the camera on the mini iPad 2 with no problem. Tilt works great. Pan seems to
be very limited. When I did a camera centering it looked like it panned its full
range, about 180 degrees. I'm thinking some sort of pan limit is set and on.
What am I missing or do I have a gimbal controll issue?
Here's your manual: https://dl.djicdn.com/downloads/phantom_3/en/Phantom_3_Advanced_User_Manual_en_v1.8_160719.pdf

There's nothing wrong with your camera pan controls.
If you could move the camera sideways all you'd see is the landing gear.
You'd also get very mixed up about which way the Phantom was facing.
To pan the camera you pan the aircraft.

Reactions: Oso
The "panning" is only visible in flight. The camera doesn't turn to pan, the Phantom does (rotates).

Here's your manual: https://dl.djicdn.com/downloads/phantom_3/en/Phantom_3_Advanced_User_Manual_en_v1.8_160719.pdf

There's nothing wrong with your camera pan controls.
If you could move the camera sideways all you'd see is the landing gear.
You'd also get very mixed up about which way the Phantom was facing.