Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3 advanced and pro batteries not interchangeable?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by flyguyphl, May 4, 2016.

  1. flyguyphl

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    3
    So the other day I borrowed a couple batteries from a friend who has a P3 Pro to use on my P3 Advanced. My firmware was up to date with version 1.8, but his wasn't. When I put his batteries in my craft, I think I still had the firmware update on my SD card and it updated his batteries - now his craft won't even power on! Also, my craft is now having a bunch of problems - the camera gimball goes limp after it's boot up phase, and all my batteries flash the red button on the shutdown phase for about 10 seconds before shutting down. Also, when connecting to my app, it now recognizes my craft as a P3 Pro, not advanced. What a mess.

    Who knew something as simple and borrowing a few batteries could cause so much havoc?! Any ideas on how to get back to normal? DJI says send them in.
     
  2. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    does his bird have the latest update on it
     
  3. Reed L

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    392
    Location:
    Alta, Ca.
    Your friend will have to reload his fw on his batteries because you really screwed up by having the P3A bin file still on your sd card. It's simple but his won't fly because when you used his batteries, you updated them to whatever you had on your sd card. I use batteries between my pro and advanced with no problems because I use clean sd cards. As long as he updates them back to pro fw, he will be fine but if it was me, I would just buy him new batteries that can be updated to where he needs them. Because I have 1.3.2 on my advanced and 1.6.4 on my pro, they interchange just fine but he will probably have to update his fw to match the 1.8 or there's a chance that you can put his batteries into your P3 with his pro 1.8 update on your sd card just to update the batteries for him, so he can leave his bird as is.
     
    #3 Reed L, May 4, 2016
    Last edited: May 4, 2016
  4. phantomi

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    63
    Then I think is good advice to reformat, or at least remove firmware from the sd card after the update.
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,117
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    I agree. I cycle all of my batteries through to ensure they get the update and then delete the BIN from my memory card.
     
  6. flyguyphl

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    3
    How can he update the firmware on his batteries if the craft won't even power up now? Thinking yeah, I may need to buy him some new batteries and take his.
     
    Reed L likes this.
  7. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,117
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    What does his craft do when he attempts to power it up? Please give us as many details as possible.
     
  8. DennyBoBenny

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    31
    Are they genuine DJI batteries or third party? DJI doesn't allow third party batteries in the latest firmware...maybe that's your problem.
     
    flpholt likes this.