Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3 4k body

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Tinman11, Jun 27, 2016.

  1. Tinman11

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi does anyone know how to get the original p3 4k shells apparently dji no longer sells them


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,688
    Likes Received:
    5,715
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Unless I'm bad mistaken it's the same shell as the Pro/Adv .
    @msinger or @blade strike can confirm this .
     
    J Dot likes this.
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,116
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    As far as I know, DJI does not make a replacement shell for the 4K. I'm thinking the P3P/P3A shell will fit, but you might want to contact a DJI dealer that does repairs Phantoms (like DroneNerds) to confirm before you get knee-deep into it.
     
    #3 msinger, Jun 27, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2016
    dirkclod likes this.
  4. Tinman11

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I will look into this option a little more


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA
    Correct same body.
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  6. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,688
    Likes Received:
    5,715
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Thank you .Thought it was but wasn't sure :)
     
    J Dot likes this.
  7. jeganx

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    51
    It's not the same. I recently crashed the 4k and brought it in for repair, they showed me the replacement shell for adv/pro, and compare it with 4k. The position of the aircraft-rc link button of the 4k is not the same with pro/adv. the top shell could be the same, but bottom shell is not the same. Take a look at this diagram below and pay attention to no.15 on both pics.
    P3P diagram.jpg P34K diagram.jpg
     
  8. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,116
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    You're right. It's not 100% the same. Here's the difference between the two shells (P3P is on the right):

    Shells.jpg

    Since nobody sells a P34K shell (as far as I know), I'm wondering if the linking button area can be popped out.
     
    #8 msinger, Sep 13, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2016
  9. meissner58

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    28
    I'm in need of a p3p 4k shell (eventually because of stress cracks) Where do we get them from and why did they stop making them?

    Sent from my SM-G930V using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  10. jeganx

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    51
    I had to use P3 Pro shell because I crashed the P3 4K. Now the problem is it doesnt have the hole for rc-aircraft link button. I can still reach it through the battery compartment when the battery is not inserted but that would be pointless when I need to use it. I think I have no choice but to drill a small hole.
     
  11. rocketflyer

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    21
    Aren't the standard and 4k shells the same?
     
  12. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,688
    Likes Received:
    5,715
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    No
     
  13. Jimmy1952

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    8
    I say never listen to the company who sells them . They want you to buy a new drone. I agree with another answer I read on here......talk to a good repair facility. I have an old Phantom laying around The top on it fits rite on a P3 standard except for 4 screw holes. The battery compartment is very cheap if it needs to be changed out to fit your battery. Not saying they are all interchangeable , but there is a good chance it will work . I have sen them for 60 bucks (new) on eBay.
     
  14. Jimmy1952

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    8
    Doesn't make any sense to me. I think they use the same mold on most from what i have seen.
     
  15. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,116
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    Interesting. Wouldn't that render it useless if the screw holes don't match up?
     
  16. Jimmy1952

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    8
    Not necessarily , One can be creative....all these do is hold the top and bottom together . A good work around will work .There are many other screws assisting in this endeavor . Not a big problem.