P2V Raw files and speed of microSD Card

Reaction score
Hi All,

First of all I would like to thank all members of this forum for posting so many good answers and solutions. This forum is a great source for learning about P2V. I'm new to quadcopters so I'm learning every day.

Last weekend I updated all my software of P2V, that was quite challenging, but I think I succeeded. Then I did a flight and took some raw photo's in DNG format.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/83953651@N04/12271318125/

After making a raw photo it took about 14 seconds before the display on the smartphone showed the live view again. At first I thought of a mallfunction but then I realised that the raw files would be much larger than JPG so it would take much longer to write the image to the MicroSD card. The JPG file is about 3-5 MB's and that takes about 3 secs, the RAW fies is 28 MB.

I experimented a bit with another MicroSD card, a Class 4 8Gb MicroSD card from Transend. With that card it took about 9 secs to write the RAW image. What's strange here is that the size of the photo (L/M/S) doesn't seem to influence the duration.

Next I did some research on the internet. A Class 10 card writes about 10 Mb/s so I guess it would take about 3,5 s to write the image, almost the same as the JPG. The fastest card I can find is a Sandisk Extreme PRO microSD kaart 16 GB UHS1 45MB/s € 79,99. I guess using this card it would take less then 1s to take a photo.

Any advice or other findings?

Not exactly. Write speeds are based on several factors, not just card speed. My class 10 still takes about 10 seconds to write. Could you imagine if burst mode raw were enabled? LOL.

You just have to wait.

I have a Class 6 card and it takes a while, too. Good thing it's fairly stable in a hover!

I haven't tried panos yet, but I guess you'll have to shoot those in the horrible JPG mode or it will take too long and the craft will drift too much. :- (

iResq said: