Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P2V+ No Canbus for 2.4ghz datalink ground station install

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by rtachna, Oct 2, 2014.

  1. rtachna

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone tell me where can I find the CANBUS on P2V+, I want to install the 2.4ghz datalink ground station and I dont find where to connect it. Usually they come in one of the legs, not in this case, or is there any other way to install it?
     
  2. DownunderPhantom

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grafton, New South Wales, Australia
    Re: P2V+ No Canbus for 2.4ghz datalink ground station instal

    The CANBUS port is found on the main board, it is a white 4pin connector with the label "CAN".

    You will either have to modify the cable from the DATA link or buy the external CANBUS port and connect that to the internal CAN port on the main board.

    There is a very in depth thread on how to do the cable mod and connect the DATA Link to the Vision Plus.
     
  3. varmint

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hillsboro, OR
    Re: P2V+ No Canbus for 2.4ghz datalink ground station instal

    How is it that the 2.4Ghz video feed on the Vision and Vision + plays nice with the 2.4Ghz data link?
     
  4. job2310

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    Re: P2V+ No Canbus for 2.4ghz datalink ground station instal

    Buy the external CANBUS port, that's the cleanest install. I've done this myself and it works perfectly fine. To limit the impact of interference with the 2.4 video feed I've followed the guidance on phantommods.info and installed WebUI on my repeater and on the Phantom so that I can change the channel the video feed is using. It's worked fine for me so far although I haven't done much with iPad ground station other then a couple tests.
     
  5. ToThePoint

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Re: P2V+ No Canbus for 2.4ghz datalink ground station instal

    As the phantom uses mostly channel 1 ( ones seen it used channel 11 ) and the videodownlink set on channel 14 ( upper channel ) the chance of them interfering is minimal. But a other device ( unknown ) using channel 14 or 1 could still cause issue's. The 5.8Ghz band is not commonly used ( yet ) so the chance of any interference on that is much less.
     
  6. rtachna

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: P2V+ No Canbus for 2.4ghz datalink ground station instal


    Thanks, I've been searching tor the external CANBUS port, and I cant find it, do you have an idea where to find it?
     
  7. job2310

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    Re: P2V+ No Canbus for 2.4ghz datalink ground station instal

    This is what you need http://www.uavdirect.com/Phantom-2-CAN- ... canmod.htm you can simply unscrew it from the spare leg and put it on your pv2+ and attach the can-bus cable to the main board where is says "CAN"
     
  8. whoss

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: P2V+ No Canbus for 2.4ghz datalink ground station instal


    Is the videodownlink set on channel 14 or does it search in the unlicensed portion of 2.4Ghz looking for the best signal? I can't find anything documented that talks about which channel the video link is set on.