P2 with extended legs into cheap peli style case.

Reaction score
I've recently worked a way to get my P2 into a cheap Maplin Hard case.
I'm a photographer and so have added extended landing gear on my quad so I don't get the legs in shot when shooting wide. I also wanted a bit more stability and room on the quad for my FPV kit etc. Problem is, to get a peli case to carry my kit that was big enough to do the job was going to cost me over £200 and would be large if I wanted to get the quad in with the legs on etc.

After a bit of thought i came across a workaround, and I'm very happy with it so I thought i'd share it with you.
I must state at this point that I take NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR YOU DOING SIMILAR TO YOUR QUAD. I just thought it might be useful for some.
The basic idea was to use a smaller (£40 maplin) case and make the legs on the quad removable so I wouldn't need quite so much depth in the case. As I still had my original legs for the quad I thought I could experiment and see what could be done with the extended ones.
I took my dremel and fabricated some slots in the landing gear so that the fastening screws could be loosened and the legs easily removed. Then all I had to do is remove the connections to the IOSDmini, Compass, Canbus, and disconnect the receiver antennae from the legs and they could easily be removed. As long as I make sure to reconnect everything when re-attaching the legs and BEFORE I switch on the unit all should be ok. Be aware that the compass MUST be fixed to the leg and calibrated, and the unit is ONLY SWITCHED ON WHEN THE LANDING GEAR AND CONNECTIONS ARE IN PLACE.
Initially I put all of my electrics (FPV wiring, IOSDmini etc) inside the bodyshell of the P2 but I wouldnt recommend it as I began to get interference with the naza.