Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P2+ out of control

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by jaywils, Jun 24, 2015.

  1. jaywils

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    14
    I was doing a practice flight today in my own driveway which was perfectly
    normal and uneventful. I terminated the flight by hand-capture and set it
    down. Then I decided to throttle it up to idle to purge the battery to
    exhaustion, something that is recommended practice. I think I had turned
    everything else off which was now became a big problem. As soon as I
    throttled it up, rather than staying in idle mode, the phantom just lifted
    off by itself. I quickly turned on the Controller and the Wi-Fi but it was
    too little and too late. The Phantom hit a tree, fell about 20 feet,
    recovered and continued upward still without any control. Then it hit
    another branch and came down hard on the asphalt and the camera module broke
    off. Ouch!
     
  2. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Battery warning = Return to Home at nominated height.
    Cancel by holding the H button (P3) on the controller or flicking S1 down and then back up to GPS (p2) or tapping cancel RTH on the screen.
    Never let phantom idle with props on. IF you do, bolt it down with plank of wood or some weights. Best practice is to hover til it self auto lands.
     
  3. Birdman

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Eastern Shore, Maryland
    Sorry to hear of your misfortune. Don't understand how you can throttle up with the controller off. Sounds like maybe the copter went into the RTH mode. How did you "terminate the flight"? Is it possible that if you turn the controller off while the copter is still being held up, it hasn't registered that it has landed yet and then wants to do the RTH routine if the controller is turned off. Just a guess.
     
  4. barefootbeachcombing

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    US
    Never idle on the ground with the props attached.
    Never turn off the controller if the Phantom is still turned on.
     
  5. sdtag

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    23
    +1
    never EVER
     
  6. cjmwales

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales. UK
    Your Phantom thought it was still flying, and once control signal was lost it initiated RTH.

    As others have already pointed out, idling isn't a good idea either as you're not getting cooling air through the vents.

    I don't think you'll make that mistake again!
     
  7. jaywils

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    14
    I think you're right, it went into into RTH mode. I just wasn't mindful about what I was doing.
    A few weeks ago I let it idle to purge the other battery but only after it landed and everything was left ON. It worked fine. But the battery was already sufficiently low that it didn't have enough power to lift off anyway and it did enable the battery to fully charge again.
    Oh well, a good excuse to upgrade to P3.
     
  8. jaywils

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    14
    NOW you tell me ;-)
    I thought I could continue flying the Phantom, just for fun, even without a camera but it will not connect to WiFi. The iPhone will recognize the Phantom's WiFi address but when I switch to the DJI app, I get a "not connected" message and no telemetry status data, like battery or GPS. The Phantom will respond to throttle commands but I have not flown for obvious reasons. My guess is it's not worth fixing but I'm just curious if the loss of the camera feed is tied to everything else?
     
  9. Supadrone

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey man.... you can still fly the Phantom no problem without the cam. I myself even just fly it without being connected to wifi without the range extender on or using my smartphone. You just need to monitor your battery levels often.. maybe use a timer. Making sure you calibrate your compass and getting a good gps lock still. How bad is your camera beat up?
     
  10. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Its a common problem after a crash. There a 3 grey cables from the phantom to the gimbal. Inspect all 3, especailly the 4 pin clip in cable.
     
  11. robsquad

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, UK
    You can link one of the camera cables back to the main board to get telemetry on the app.
    You won't have pic but app will show some data.
    Sorry can't remember which one so you will need to dig back in the forum to find it