Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P2, Gimball?, GoPro Hero Plus

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by markato, May 3, 2016.

  1. markato

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mankato,MN
    Does anyone know if there is a gimball that will work with a GPHero+? It has the non removable case. Hoping there is a gimball that allows you to use the standard go pro mount.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,100
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Maybe one of Chinese aftermarket may or may not work.
     
  3. markato

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mankato,MN
    I was told I was buying a GP hero3 then when I received it, it was the GoPro hero +. Which I can return but was hoping to find a way to get it to work. Otherwise I am looking at an ilook+ but recently found out they don't have their own power source which then only can be used with the P2 and not as a stand alone action cam. Sort of a I want my cake and eat it too. I don't want to fork out 3-400 bucks for a camera......Spending hours on the web today I came across the dazzne P3 cam and eken HD. But not sure any of them will fit the gimball I am looking at (walkera G-2d). Yes I know this stuff is cheap Chinese stuff but I think it will get the job done until I can part with the cash for the "good" stuff.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,100
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    I own 4 GoPro two of which I paid retail while the other two i bought used for half the retail. Scan ebay for either a hero 3+ black or the hero 4 black but stay away from the hero 3 as they had nothing but problems.
     
  5. markato

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mankato,MN
    I will see if I can hunt one down. Do you have any experience with the ilook and walkera products? They seem to have good reviews..


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,100
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    None
     
  7. Kill Switch

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    I am currently testing a hero+ on a Chinese gimbal.
    So far the biggest problem mounting it.
    Either u modify the arm that holds camera or remove the bottem swivel bracket ( cut / hack it off) of the housing.

    The reason is that it just sits to high on the gimbal which doesn't allow for travel.


    The second is that none of the standard Velcro straps work to hold in place. I got it working with zip ties.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  8. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
    Really got 2 never had one problem . Now my 3+'s both had to be sent in because of the lens being set wrong both where early runs
     
  9. regdawg

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    you can get the 3+'s and 4's on ebay for really good deals nowadays. Too bad there isn't a gimbal for the session.