Over tightened prop HELP PLEASE!

Reaction score
Hi all

NEWBIE HERE

Have vision 2, great and happy with it. Today however thought I would take the props off to get it In a new case.

So used the prop spanner that came with the box to loosen the silver topped prop. All good. Then tried the first black topped one, and stupidly, yes you guessed it, tightened it, rather than loosened it up.

So now I have a problem

One black-top prop, will not undo. The black dome stays put when the spanner is used to hold the motor and the prop is turned. Therefore the white plastic prop has loosened from the black nut. I can see that the black nut stays put when I turn the prop ( although still tight) and I am afraid that I cannot see wray to get the prop off without using too much force.

I am limited in tools

I need an idea of what to do, not being too hobbiest, and some assistance please. I have a replacement prop so it can be trashed if needs be, but need help as to not damage the phantom motor in any way. Suggestions on a card.....

Your assistance appreicated

Matt

Heat will expand it and can loosen it. Nothing too fierce though. Take a piece of cardboard or even a sheet of paper and make a small hole in it so the nut peeps through but the rest of the prop and Phantom is protected from the heat. Use a hair dryer and heat the nut for let's say 30 seconds. Perhaps you can wear a rubber glove to increase your grip on the nut. With a bit of luck it will come off.

Thanks Ben

Tried that thanks to no avail as when trying to turn the prop to unwind, it simply turns around the back nut and I have nothing to purchase any grip on the smooth nut top to hold it , if you get my meaning...

Matt :|

I haven't got any other suggestion to add except using pliers or grips to hold the nut? if you have a hacksaw you could cut a couple of straight edge in the plastic on opposite sides and see if that enables you to grip it?